This meme was started by Rae Longest at Powerful Women Readers. As I am a grandmother, who loves to read to her grandchildren, a mother who loved to read to and with her children, and a retired teacher librarian, this meme really attracted me. If you love children’s books, or have a favourite from your childhood, join us in introducing them to a new generation of readers. Feel free to use my logo above, but link back to my post as well.

I have not posted this meme since mid-February. I am going to try to post a group of children’s reviews each Saturday for the next few weeks to catch up on reviews of books that I have read to and with my grandchildren over the last couple of months since they have been able to come over and spend time with me. Today, I am concentrating on toddler books I read to my granddaughter. All of these books were generously provided to me upon request. The rating, ideas and opinions shared are our own.


Time for Bed's StoryTime for Bed’s Story by Monica Arnaldo

Expected publication: September 1st 2020 by Kids Can Press

3 Stars: ⭐⭐⭐

This is bed’s story about his boy. He discusses all the indignities that he goes through such as being jumped on, drooled on, having smelly stuff underneath etc. My granddaughter laughed at some of the antics, as she does those things as well, but overall, this was just an okay read for us. I had to pull out thoughts and ideas after we finished and when I asked if she wanted me to read it again, she asked if she could choose a different story. I thought this would be a good bedtime story, but it did not fit that bill. The illustrations were well done and amusing. Perhaps my grandson, who is a bit older might like it more.


Snow Doves

Snow Doves by Nancy Hartry, Gabrielle Grimard (Illustrations)

Expected publication: September 15th 2020 by Second Story Press

5 Stars: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I loved this book. Please read the back of this book before reading it to your child. My granddaughter and I shared this book, I say shared because it is a wordless story. I explained to her before we started that the two friends do not speak the same language, so they do not understand what each other says, but they can get their message across with their actions. We then went through the story and she made it up as we went along. I was astonished with her ideas and details. I am going to buy this one to have around as we can make up stories and change them when we feel like it. The illustrations by Gabrielle Grimard are wonderful. They show the delight and emotions shared by these two children. I definitely recommend this one.


Hug?Hug? by Charlene Chua

Expected publication: September 1st 2020 by Kids Can Press 
4 Stars: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

I am glad that these books are written for kids because I didn’t think there was much to this one, but my granddaughter loved it. The idea: Sometimes a hug is just what you need. And sometimes…. It’s just not!  The young girl in the story gave her cat a hug after he spit up a hairball, then her dog wanted a hug, some ducks and so on. My granddaughter laughed when the skunk and porcupine got hugs and told me what happened. We went through this book several times, with her laughing each time, even though she knew what was going to happen. The illustrations are hilarious. We loved them and she kept pointing things out to me on each page. After we finished, I talked to her about when not to give hugs. Of course she said not to skunks or dragons, but we also talked about strangers and people she didn’t know. Another winner for us.


48644481. sx318 Bunnies on the Bus by Philip Ardagh, Ben Mantle (Illustrator)

Published August 4th 2020 by Candlewick Press

4 Stars: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

This was another one that my granddaughter and I read together and loved. You could hear us all over the house shouting, “Bunnies on the Bus, Bunnies on the bus! No wonder there’s a fuss about the bunnies on the bus!” My son came upstairs to see what was going on. Probably not the best choice for a bedtime story though. This story was simple but hilarious. We laughed and then tried to make up our own story about bunnies on a train (we didn’t do very well), so we read it again. The illustrations make this book so much funnier and enjoyable. A great read aloud and when we finished it, I had to read it to my grandson before he went to be and he loved it too.


51349153. sx318 Little Owl by Britta Teckentrup

Expected publication: September 22nd 2020 by Orca Book Publishers

3 Stars: ⭐⭐⭐

This was a very simple, sweet bedtime story in boardbook form. Little Owl and her parents go on a nighttime adventure and meet some other animals in the forest. After the long flight, they head home and a tired Little Owl goes to sleep. It is recommended for 0 to 2 and I think maybe up to 3. My four year old granddaughter liked it and when we finished, she went to sleep, but there was not much to it for her age group. The illustrations are large and colourful and attract the eye and add to the story. This book is printed in Germany on 100% recycled paper using eco-friendly inks. The book is part of the All Natural series. The publisher gifted me with a copy of this book upon request. The rating, ideas and opinions shared are my own.