Search

Carla Loves To Read

Cover Reveal and Pre-Order for Chris Merritt’s WHO’S NEXT?

Coming Soon: SEPT 11th 2020, Who’s Next? (Detectives Lockhart and Green #2) by Chris Merritt

Now, for the reveal, Scroll Down

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

ABOUT THE BOOK: Stumbling to the ground, he claws at the earth around him, trying to stabilise himself, but his attacker is on him in seconds. As he stares at the lights of the bustling streets on the other side of the park gates, he doesn’t even have time to yell for help before everything goes black.

When the body of wealthy businessman Charles Stott is found dead on Wimbledon Common, covered in bruises just feet away from his luxury home, Detective Dan Lockhart is called to investigate the shocking scene. Examining the sickeningly disfigured body before him, Lockhart knows he’s dealing with a brutal killer and, as he bends down to take a closer look, he notices something on the victim’s neck: a small, crudely drawn symbol in black ink. It seems the murderer has marked his victim, but why? Dan needs to get inside the perpetrator’s mind, so he contacts psychologist Dr Lexi Green.

As the ensuing media circus puts pressure on Dan and Lexi’s investigation, another victim is found and the headlines are quick to report a serial killer is on the loose. The body of a successful lawyer has been discovered in a park with the same purple bruising and hand-drawn symbol on his neck. Dan fears that more victims will follow.

As the case intensifies, Dan uncovers a new lead on his missing wife, Jess, who disappeared eleven years ago. Determined to follow it up, he must choose between tracking down a serial murderer and finding Jess. Can he make the impossible decision before the killer strikes once more?

Fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Cara Hunter will love this thrilling new series from Chris Merritt. From an explosive start to a heart-stopping finale, you will not want to put this book down!

BUY LINK: Amazon


Author Bio: Hello! I’m a British author whose crime thrillers combine psychology, suspense, and characters you care about.

All my novels are set in London, where I live. My first trilogy starred Zac Boateng and Kat Jones, two detectives motivated by family, who tackle organised crime and police corruption. LAST WITNESS, the second Boateng and Jones book, reached #13 in the UK Kindle chart in 2019.

My second series features detective Dan Lockhart – an ex-soldier with a missing wife – and psychologist Dr Lexi Green, an American living in London. These novels are darker, more psychological serial-killer cases, with romantic relationships as a central theme.

I began writing fiction in 2014, after previous careers as a diplomat, based in Iraq and Jerusalem, and later as a psychologist working with victims and perpetrators of crime. I specialised in treating Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), which sparked my interest in telling stories about how people cope when faced with extreme adversity.

Now, I spend most of my time writing novels and drinking coffee while *thinking* about writing novels. When I’m not writing, I love climbing and playing basketball.

You can find out more about my work at www.cjmerritt.co.uk or follow me on Twitter @DrCJMerritt

Throwback Thursday (July 9, 2020)

20180510_112628

Throwback Thursday meme is hosted by Renee@It’s Book Talk and is a way to share some of your old favorites as well as sharing books that you’re FINALLY getting around to reading that were published over a year ago. You know, the ones waiting patiently on your TBR list while you continue to pile more titles on top of them! These older books are usually much easier than new releases to get a hold of at libraries and elsewhere. If you have your own Throwback Thursday recommendation feel free to jump on board and connect back to Renee’s blog. Continue reading “Throwback Thursday (July 9, 2020)”

Top Ten Tuesday, July 6, 2020: Ten Authors I Have Read The Most

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish and is now hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. Each week a new theme is suggested for bloggers to participate in. This week’s prompt is: Ten Authors I Have Read The Most

I am including the authors I have read the most books from according to my “read books list” on Goodreads. Many of these authors are ones that I used to read faithfully, but do not necessarily follow anymore. Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesday, July 6, 2020: Ten Authors I Have Read The Most”

Finding Love at Hedgehog Hollow by Jessica Redland #BookReview, @rararesources, @JessicaRedland

Welcome to my stop on the Blog Tour for Finding Love at Hedgehog Hollow by Jessica Redland. I just recently discovered Ms. Redland’s books, so was quite thrilled to be offered the opportunity to participate in this tour. Check out my review below, and visit the other blogs listed for excerpts, interviews and other content. Continue reading “Finding Love at Hedgehog Hollow by Jessica Redland #BookReview, @rararesources, @JessicaRedland”

Dance Away with Me by Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Narrated by Nicole Poole, #AudiobookReview, #nasbingo

Dance Away with Me by Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Narrated by Nicole Poole

Published June 9th 2020 by William Morrow,  HarperAudio

5 Stars: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Continue reading “Dance Away with Me by Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Narrated by Nicole Poole, #AudiobookReview, #nasbingo”

Evil Games (D.I. Kim Stone #2) by Angela Marsons, #BookReview, #6-20 Books of Summer

25530958. sy475 Evil Games (D.I. Kim Stone #2) by Angela Marsons

Published May 29th 2015 by Bookouture

5 Stars: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Continue reading “Evil Games (D.I. Kim Stone #2) by Angela Marsons, #BookReview, #6-20 Books of Summer”

Always a Bridesmaid (Getting Hitched in Dixie #2) by Cindi Madsen, Narrated by Tiffany Morgan

Always a Bridesmaid (Getting Hitched in Dixie #2) by Cindi Madsen, Narrated by Tiffany Morgan

Published May 26th 2020 by Entangled: Amara, June 16, 2020 by Tantor Audio


3.5 Stars:  Continue reading “Always a Bridesmaid (Getting Hitched in Dixie #2) by Cindi Madsen, Narrated by Tiffany Morgan”

Summer at Lake Haven (Haven Point #11) by RaeAnne Thayne, Narrated by Vanessa Johansson, #AudiobookReview

 Summer at Lake Haven (Haven Point #11) by RaeAnne Thayne, Narrated by Vanessa Johansson

Published June 23rd 2020 by HQN Books, Harlequin Audio

4 Stars:

Continue reading “Summer at Lake Haven (Haven Point #11) by RaeAnne Thayne, Narrated by Vanessa Johansson, #AudiobookReview”

Red Sky Over Hawaii by Sara Ackerman #BookReview

Red Sky Over Hawaii by Sara Ackerman, Narrated by Jennifer Robideau 

Published June 9th 2020 by Mira, Harlequin Audio

4.5 Stars: 

Continue reading “Red Sky Over Hawaii by Sara Ackerman #BookReview”

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑