Search

carlalovestoread

A place to read about books.

Category

News/Blog Tours/Announcements

Blog Tour for The Chesapeake Bride (Chesapeake Diaries #11) by Mariah Stewart and Giveaway

The Chesapeake Bride (Chesapeake Diaries #11)THE CHESAPEAKE BRIDE
11th in The Chesapeake Diaries series
Mariah Stewart
Pocket Books
August 29, 2017
ISBN 9781501154355
$7.99

My Review: 5 Stars

After reading “The Chesapeake Bride” I have added 10 more books to my TBR list. This is book eleven in the “Chesapeake Diaries” series, and even though it can be read as a standalone, after meeting the characters in this story, I want to read their stories. There was enough of the history of the characters in the story that you were able to get the idea of what this little island and its history means to the characters in the story.

I have never been to this area, but I definitely want to go now. Mariah Stewart does an amazing job weaving the descriptions of the area, the architecture and the history of Cannonball Island into the story with the quirky and interesting characters that live there and on St. Dennis. I absolutely loved the character of Ruby, the irascible 100 year old matriarch of the Parker family. She has “the sight” but does not interfere and share her knowledge. When the romance of Cass (Cassidy Logan) and Owen begins to grow, you can feel the emotions, and their wonder. I wanted to be there and watch it unfold. As they move through all the other stuff that gets in the way and pops up unexpectedly, you cheer them on, you want them to get together. With plenty of unique and fun characters to get to know, the exploration of the town, and the upcoming nuptials of Owen’s sister Lis, this story is a sweet romance, community drama and family story that will leave you wanting more. There is definitely another visit to Chesapeake in my future

GIVEAWAY: Post a comment on this post and on September 20th, I will draw a name to receive one copy of Driftwood Point, 10th in the Chesapeake Diaries. The publisher will mail the book to you. (US mailing address only).

Continue reading “Blog Tour for The Chesapeake Bride (Chesapeake Diaries #11) by Mariah Stewart and Giveaway”

Advertisements

20 Books of Summer 2017 Update

Update on September 4th. I stayed up last night to finish my last book. It was a quick read and I really enjoyed it. I will link my reviews to the covers of each book. Some of these reviews are on Goodreads, for some reason they never got posted to my blog.

Thanks to Cathy at 746 Books and Fictionophile for this challenge. It was what I needed to get these summer books finally read. I enjoyed them all and it was a rather romantic summer reading season for me.

So, here is my list. I read 20 books that take place in the summer. All of them were on my TBR list. Here goes: Continue reading “20 Books of Summer 2017 Update”

Welcome to September

Well, September is here and I have decided that I am not going to let challenges rule what I read this month. I have some favourite authors that I need to catch up on and some series that I want to finish. Here is what I have decided on for September, and then, I will add others during the month as I hear them calling to me. Continue reading “Welcome to September”

100 Followers

100 Follows!My blog has reached a milestone. Thank you to all the people out there who are following my blog. I love to read and started this blog to share the books I have enjoyed. I am trying to diversify a bit, but it will still be a book blog. I can not believe there are over 100 people that care about what I have to say. Thanks again.

SPOTLIGHT on The Light In Summer (Butternut Lake #5)

The Light In Summer by Mary McNear

THE LIGHT IN SUMMER by New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Mary McNear on sale today, June 20th. This novel takes place in the fictional town of Butternut, Minnesota, a place Susan Wiggs says is “so beautifully rendered, you’ll wish it was real.”

This novel makes the perfect summer read, and reads true to the feelings of a small lake town in the summer (not to mention, the cover is fabulous). As an adult, summer is often spent in the office, pining for the days of a carefree summer spent outside, by the water, or at a favorite restaurant with friends. THE LIGHT IN SUMMER allows you to transport to that town you wish you were in, that waterfront you want to be sitting next to, and that summer romance that makes you feel like a teenager again.

PRAISE FOR MARY MCNEAR

“McNear’s latest Butternut Lake novel features small-town living at its best, teenaged angst and family dysfunction… The fast-paced, quick-witted dialogue is entertaining and imaginative. The perfect summer read that also works as a standalone novel.”

RT Book Reviews

“Mary McNear has mastered the art of the quiet romance. With funny characters, a charming Minnesotan setting…The Space Between Sisters will appeal to fans of Kristin Hannah or Susan Wiggs. Those familiar with McNear’s Butternut Lake trilogy are sure to be happy revisiting the town’s memorable faces and places.”

Shelf Awareness

“THE SPACE BETWEEN SISTERS explores the complex relationship between sisters, their differences, their mirrored history, their love and support of one another.  This triumphant story had me reading until the wee hours of the morning.”

— Debbie Macomber, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“Butternut Lake is so beautifully rendered, you’ll wish it was real. Mary McNear takes the reader on an emotional journey with this story of second chances, starting over, and the healing power of love. A book to relax, enjoy and savor any time of year, but especially during the long, lazy days of summer.”
— Susan Wiggs, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“A delicious setting and a heroine to cheer for, Moonlight on Butternut Lake is my favorite kind of book, one that treads that pleasurable line between romance and women’s fiction. Enjoy! ”
  — Susan Elizabeth Phillips, New York Times bestselling author

“A great, emotional read for every woman who must face the past before moving forward.”
— Sherryl Woods, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Cozy Mystery Series Giveaway

CONGRATULATIONS TO LINDA WHO WON THIS DRAWING.

Are you looking for a new author of a Cozy Mystery series? Look no further. Aysia Amery has generously donated a set of her 4-book series, “Maui Mayhem” to use as a Giveaway. These books are in mobi format (kindle, mobi apps) so if you can not read that format, please do not enter this giveaway. To enter is simple, just leave a comment in the comment section of this blog. That is it. On Friday, February 17th, I will draw a winning name. 

Something's Rotten in Paradise (Maui Mayhem Cozy Mystery Book 1) A Killing in Kula (Maui Mayhem Cozy Mystery Book 2) Mayhem on the Orchid Isle (Maui Mayhem Cozy Mystery Book 3) Hibiscus Homicide (Maui Mayhem Cozy Mystery Book 4)

Aysia Amery writes light cozy mysteries with a dash of humor. Need a stress-relieving read while trying to guess whodunit? Let Aysia’s cozies take you on an entertaining vacation to the exotic islands of Hawai‘i where she was born and raised and still resides with her hubby.. Come wiggle your toes in the sand with me on my Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/AysiaAmery

2017 Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge (February)

Second month in the challenge. I am not using any of the picture books, just Chapter books for early readers and up. Here are my books for February 2017 so far. This challenge is hosted by Bookish Things and More. Check it out and join in if you are interested.

The Last Time I Saw Her (Dr. Charlotte Stone #4)

Broken Promise (Promise Falls Trilogy #1)

Never Let You Go

Winter Storms (Winter #3)

 

2017 Netgalley & Edelweiss Challenge

Update for January. I forgot to do this before I started on my February books. In January I read 18 books. Woo Hoo! If I keep this up, I should read over 200 by the end of the year. I did not read any from Edelweiss yet, so will try to get some in this month.  This challenge is hosted by Bookish Things and More.

2017 Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge

I am joining this challenge. I will not use any of the picture books, just Chapter books for early readers and up. Here are my books for January 2017 so far. This challenge is hosted by Bookish Things and More. Check it out and join in if you are interested.

Continue reading “2017 Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge”

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑