Search

Carla Loves To Read

Category

News/Blog Tours/Announcements

My Invitation to the Kooky Kids’ Club

I am participating in the Kooky Kids’ Club blog tour. I love my invitation. Watch for my post on December 4th.

Continue reading “My Invitation to the Kooky Kids’ Club”

Advertisements

Free today – Oh Holy Fright by Teresa Trent

If you enjoyed my review of this book and I tempted you to purchase it, now is your chance. It is free on Amazon until November 27. Click on the book and it will take you to the purchase page.

Oh Holy Fright (Pecan Bayou Book 8) by [Trent, Teresa]

 

Oh Holy Fright (Pecan Bayou Mystery) by Teresa Trent Blog Tour and Giveaway

I am delighted to be part of the Blog Tour for Oh Holy )(Pecan Bayou Mystery, Book 8) by Teresa Trent. It is my pleasure to provide a review for you at my blog stop on the Great Escapes Virtual Book Tour.

About the Book

Oh Holy Fright (Pecan Bayou Mystery)
Cozy Mystery
8th in Series
Self Published (October 31, 2018)
Number of Pages: 255
ASIN: B07JFNSC11

 

 

It’s Christmas in Pecan Bayou, Texas. Join Betsy (aka The Happy Hinter) for a good old small-town Christmas complete with Christmas carols, over the top light displays, delicious food, loving friends and…a Christmas Creeper. One of the residents of Pecan Bayou has a secret and you’d better lock the door because that isn’t Santa out there or even a stray elf. Enjoy spending Christmas with the town and family you’ve come to know in the Pecan Bayou Series.

Recipes and helpful hints included! Continue reading “Oh Holy Fright (Pecan Bayou Mystery) by Teresa Trent Blog Tour and Giveaway”

A Southern Season – Guest Post, Review & Giveaway

JR_SouthernSeason_BLOG

Welcome to the Blog Tour & Giveaway for A Southern Season: Four Stories From a Front Porch Swing by Eva Marie Everson, Claire Fullerton, Linda W. Yezak, and Ane Mulligan, hosted by JustRead Publicity Tours! Pull up a front porch swing and enjoy learning more about this collection from 4 great authors 🙂

Continue reading “A Southern Season – Guest Post, Review & Giveaway”

Inky The Octopus Spotlight Tour

Inky the Octopus by Erin Guendelsberger

On-Sale: 4/3/18

ISBN: 978-1-4926-5414-8

$17.99 HC

Juvenile Fiction/Picture Book

4.5 Stars

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Inky is bored with aquarium life—he wants to start a new adventure in the ocean! But just how can an octopus in a tank get to the open seas…?

Inky is not just a character from a tall tale – he’s the real-life escape artist from the National Aquarium of New Zealand. One morning in April of 2016, the aquarium’s keepers discovered that Inky was missing. His tank-mate Blotchy stayed behind, but the keepers traced Inky’s tracks to Hawke’s Bay. This story chronicles the adventure that the real-life Inky might have taken on his escape to freedom in the open ocean!

My Review: Inky is an octopus living in an aquarium. He feels the call of the open sea, and wants to go free to see what is out there. He is able to sneak out one night when his tank is left open, just a bit, and squeeze through a drain out to the ocean. AS the story ends, you see him enjoying his new life in the sea.

This story is based on the real-life escape of an octopus from the New Zealand aquarium, and is told from Inky’s point of view. This is like a real life Finding Dory with a happy ending. The illustrations are amazing. They are so colourful and show what life at the bottom of the ocean looks like in a way that will enchant children. The emotions shown in Inky’s eyes show his happiness at escaping to the real world. The rhyming text tells the story in a way that is interesting and with a cadence that is easy to read and listen too.

Back matter includes the details of the real escape and Inky’s photo. There are also octopus facts and a bibliography. This would make a great story when studying ocean animals, animal adaptations, as well as when discussing animals in captivity and animal rescues. It is also just a cute story for those who enjoy animal stories in general. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book via Netgalley.

Erin GuendelsbergerABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Erin Guendelsberger writes stories and poems. Her work has appeared in picture books and magazines. She studied writing at Hamline University and Bowling Green State University. She now pursues adventure in Ohio with her husband, daughters, dog, and cats.

20 Books of Summer 2017 Update

Update on September 4th. I stayed up last night to finish my last book. It was a quick read and I really enjoyed it. I will link my reviews to the covers of each book. Some of these reviews are on Goodreads, for some reason they never got posted to my blog.

Thanks to Cathy at 746 Books and Fictionophile for this challenge. It was what I needed to get these summer books finally read. I enjoyed them all and it was a rather romantic summer reading season for me.

So, here is my list. I read 20 books that take place in the summer. All of them were on my TBR list. Here goes: Continue reading “20 Books of Summer 2017 Update”

Welcome to September

Well, September is here and I have decided that I am not going to let challenges rule what I read this month. I have some favourite authors that I need to catch up on and some series that I want to finish. Here is what I have decided on for September, and then, I will add others during the month as I hear them calling to me. Continue reading “Welcome to September”

100 Followers

100 Follows!My blog has reached a milestone. Thank you to all the people out there who are following my blog. I love to read and started this blog to share the books I have enjoyed. I am trying to diversify a bit, but it will still be a book blog. I can not believe there are over 100 people that care about what I have to say. Thanks again.

SPOTLIGHT on The Light In Summer (Butternut Lake #5)

The Light In Summer by Mary McNear

THE LIGHT IN SUMMER by New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Mary McNear on sale today, June 20th. This novel takes place in the fictional town of Butternut, Minnesota, a place Susan Wiggs says is “so beautifully rendered, you’ll wish it was real.”

This novel makes the perfect summer read, and reads true to the feelings of a small lake town in the summer (not to mention, the cover is fabulous). As an adult, summer is often spent in the office, pining for the days of a carefree summer spent outside, by the water, or at a favorite restaurant with friends. THE LIGHT IN SUMMER allows you to transport to that town you wish you were in, that waterfront you want to be sitting next to, and that summer romance that makes you feel like a teenager again.

PRAISE FOR MARY MCNEAR

“McNear’s latest Butternut Lake novel features small-town living at its best, teenaged angst and family dysfunction… The fast-paced, quick-witted dialogue is entertaining and imaginative. The perfect summer read that also works as a standalone novel.”

RT Book Reviews

“Mary McNear has mastered the art of the quiet romance. With funny characters, a charming Minnesotan setting…The Space Between Sisters will appeal to fans of Kristin Hannah or Susan Wiggs. Those familiar with McNear’s Butternut Lake trilogy are sure to be happy revisiting the town’s memorable faces and places.”

Shelf Awareness

“THE SPACE BETWEEN SISTERS explores the complex relationship between sisters, their differences, their mirrored history, their love and support of one another.  This triumphant story had me reading until the wee hours of the morning.”

— Debbie Macomber, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“Butternut Lake is so beautifully rendered, you’ll wish it was real. Mary McNear takes the reader on an emotional journey with this story of second chances, starting over, and the healing power of love. A book to relax, enjoy and savor any time of year, but especially during the long, lazy days of summer.”
— Susan Wiggs, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“A delicious setting and a heroine to cheer for, Moonlight on Butternut Lake is my favorite kind of book, one that treads that pleasurable line between romance and women’s fiction. Enjoy! ”
  — Susan Elizabeth Phillips, New York Times bestselling author

“A great, emotional read for every woman who must face the past before moving forward.”
— Sherryl Woods, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑