I wanted to have a page where I listed all my 2021 Reading Challenges. I hope this will help me to keep them organized and that I won’t forget any of them. My plan is to update this page at the end of each month with my progress. I will also use the same book for more than one challenge, so it will not be impossible to complete as many of my challenges as possible.

I have not updated every month, but almost. It is now the end of August, so here is my end of summer update. I am quite happy with my progress. As of the end of August, I have completed 7/9 of my challenges. The Spell the Month in Books Challenge is a monthly so is ongoing.

Edelweiss Reviewers Challenge on Goodreads: The host for this group is Lynne from Fictionophile. I have linked to this group in case you want to join in. My goal for this challenge is to read 30 books that I got from Edelweiss.Β 46/30 (2021- 08-31) COMPLETE

The 52 Book Club -2021 Challenge: This is a new challenge for me. I was invited to this group on Goodreads and it looked like a fun challenge so I jumped onboard. There is also a facebook page for this group. If you visit my page you can link to the challenge page on Goodreads and the Facebook group if you are interested.Β 44/52Β (2021-06-20 )

Bookbloggers Fiction Challenge for 2021Β #BB2021FRC: This is a challenge that requires the reader to read 8 books based on specific prompts. A challenge begun by Lynne atΒ FictionophileΒ in 2020. I enjoyed it and wanted to participate again.Β 8/8Β (2021-06-20) COMPLETE

2021 Mystery Genre BingoΒ Challenge: Using key ideas and topics, Darinda atΒ NIGHTCAP BOOKSΒ has you create your own bingo card for this challenge. My goal is to complete two lines on my card. 22/25 squares, 4 linesΒ (2021- 08-31) COMPLETE

What’s In A Name 2021 – Challenge: This is another relatively short challenge. There are only 6 prompts to fulfill for this challenge hosted by Andrea @Β Carolina BookΒ Nook.Β 6/6Β (2021-08-31) COMPLETE

 Library Love Challenge 2021: Library Love Challenge hosted byAngel’s Guilty Pleasures & Books of My Heart. I have selected the Overdrive Junkie level which is to read or listen to 36 books. I will probably increase that goal as the year progresses. 61/36 (2021-06-23) I achieved Library Card on Fire which is 60+, COMPLETE.

20 Books of Summer: 20/20 (2021-08-23) COMPLETE

Netgalley Summer Bingo (July & August): There are 12 Possible lines, I want to get 3, As of August 31, I got 6/12 Lines. I only missed 3 squares. COMPLETE

A to Z Title Challenge: As of August 31st, I have 24/26 read.


Spell the Month in Books: This is a monthly meme originally created by Jana @ Reviews from the Stacks. I am turning mine into a challenge. I am using books on my TBR to spell the month with the goal that I read at least half of them each month. I don’t have a wrap-up page for this goal, so will just link to each month from here. January 5/7February 6/8, March 5/5, April 5/5, May 2/3, June 3/4, July 3/4, August 5/6, September ?/9

I also plan to have a small goal or mini-challenge each month.

  • January: Once Upon a Grimm Readathon for January β€“ Read them all 
  • February: Romance – Read 10 romance books – 1readBlack History Month β€“ 8 Books dealing with Racism or issues facing People of Colour and/or Books by Authors of ColourI also watched 8 movies fitting the same criteria
  • March: Reading Ireland – Read 5+ books by Irish Authors or set in Ireland, Finish a series for Read a Series in a Month I read 9 books for Reading Ireland, I Finished all 3 books in the Royal Bastards Series
  • April: Middle Grades book, I would like to read at least 10 MG and/or YA books: I read 19 during the month
  • May: I wanted to read as many thrillers as I could with the hope of 10 minimum: I read 17 that I identified as a thriller or suspense
  • June: Books with summery covers, romances or set in the summer (Beach reads) 10 minimum: I read or listened to 20 that I felt fit this category
  • July: Christmas in July – Read 10 or more Christmas stories – I read 16, so surpassed my goal.
  • August: Books You Want to Read in the Latter Half of 2021 – I selected books from Netgalley and read/listened to 27 books from Netgalley
  • September: Cozy Mysteries, my goal is to read 10 or more during the month
  • October
  • November: Ho Ho Ho Readathon, Non-Fiction November
  • December