Cathy at 746 Books hosted the wonderful Reading Ireland Month challenge (or The Begorrathon as it is affectionately known) for the seventh year between Wednesday 1 and Friday 31 March 2023. I participated again this year and did far better than I expected. My goal was 4 books and 2 movies.

Here is my list of what I read and watched for Reading Ireland. I actually surpassed my goal. I read 10 books (1 children’s) and am in the process of finishing 2 others.

  1. A Very Irish Christmas: The Greatest Irish Holiday Stories of All Time by James Joyce, W.B. Yeats, Colm Tóibín, Anne Enright, Elizabeth Bowen, Claire Keegan, William Trevor, Bernard MacLaverty REVIEW
  2. A Run in the Park by David Park REVIEW
  3. Saint Patrick the Forgiver: The History and Legends of Ireland’s Bishop by Ned Bustard REVIEW
  4. Irish Coffee Murder by Leslie Meier (A Lucy Stone Mystery, #28.5), Lee Hollis (Hayley Powell Food and Cocktails Mystery #15.5), Barbara Ross (Maine Clambake Mystery #10.5) REVIEW
  5. Four Leaf Cleaver (A Country Store Mystery #11) by Maddie Day REVIEW
  6. The Shortest Day by Colm Tóibín REVIEW
  7. Off the Map (Beck Sisters #3) by Trish Doller REVIEW
  8. The Missing Ones (D.I. Lottie Parker #1) by Patricia Gibney REVIEW
  9. The Stolen Girls (D.I. Lottie Parker #2) by Patricia Gibney REVIEW
  10. The Winter Guest by W.C. Ryan REVIEW (Not posted yet)

Still Reading, but not finished in March: Leonard and Hungry Paul by Ronan Hession and The Queen of Dirt Island by Donal Ryan

For Irish Culture, I watched 3 movies: The Banshees of Inisherin, Brooklyn and The Secrets of Roan Innish. My reviews are here.

As March comes to a close, I have to say that I really enjoyed Reading Ireland. I have some new authors to read and a few more movies that I plan to watch. Thanks for hosting this event again, Cathy.