Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by Jana @ That Artsy Reader Girl. Each week a new theme is suggested for bloggers to participate in. Create your own Top Ten list that fits that topic – putting your unique spin on it if you want. Everyone is welcome to join but please link back to The Artsy Reader Girl in your own Top Ten Tuesday post.

This week’s Top Ten is Top Ten Books I hope Santa Brings This Year. Well, I buy my own books or get them from the library, so this prompt doesn’t work for me. As I was checking out other blogs, I stumbled upon The Reindeer Book Tag, inspired by Rudolph and including Olive, so, Ten Books. I want to thank Jo over at BOOKLOVERSBLOG for posting hers today, so I stole her idea. This tag was created by booktuber Hailey in Bookland. So here we go:

Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer: An Underdog Or An Inspiring Book/Character

I read a lot of historical fiction and although these books are usually based on real characters, I find them so inspirational. I am choosing social worker Jane Forrester in Necessary Lies by Diane Chamberlain. This is a book about the forced sterilization of many teenagers (lied to them and told them they were getting an appendectomy) because they were poor, and “feeble minded”. Jane refused to participate and helped these families in so many ways.

Dasher: A Book You Read Quickly Or A Fashionable Character

I enjoy Kate Quinn’s books and this is a novella she wrote, which I listened to in about an hour. This is a historical fiction story with a twist as there is a time travel/time slip element that I enjoyed.

Dancer: An Artistically Inspiring Book Or A Character Who Loves To Party

Winterdream: A Retelling of The Nutcracker by Chantal Gadoury was a beautiful story. It is set in Russia and is told from Clara’s point of view. I very much enjoyed this one.

Prancer: A Light-Hearted Book Or A Conceited Character

I have read a lot of Christmas books that were very lighthearted and fun. It was hard to just pick one, but this is the first one that came to mine. There is a grief angle and some guilt that added a bit of seriousness to the story, but a woman wanting to find her Santa Claus and going on dates that her best friends set up, how fun is that.

Vixen: A Trickster Character Or A Deceptively Hard/Easy Read

For this prompt, I thought of Hawthorne Fell from Edgewood by Kristen Ciccarelli. Hawthorne was under the power of Wood King and tricks Emmeline Lark to make a deal with the Wood King in exchange for her grandfather. This was a great story, and even though I don’t read a lot of fantasy, I enjoyed this book.

Comet: A Book That Is Out of This World Or A Children’s Book

I think one of my favourite children’s books is The Magic Paintbrush. The illustrations are amazing and the story has a great message.

Cupid: A Couple That You Really Want To Be Together Or A Hyped Book That You Liked

I have a love/hate relationship with hyped books, like a lot of people. One that didn’t disappoint is The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead. I know it was one of those books it seemed you either loved or were very disappointed with, but I enjoyed the imagery of this one.

Donner: A Book You Constantly Shout About, Or An Opinionated Character, Or A Character Who Lacks Tact

Where the Crawdads Sing is a book that I often recommend when someone asks me if there is one book I recommend. I listened to the audiobook and recommend that if you like audiobooks, but the story is good. I recently watched the movie and loved it as well. They did a wonderful job with it.

Blitzen: A Powerful Book Or A Quick Read

I did a quick read up above so selected a powerful read for this prompt. The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek was an excellent book about the power of books and being able to read. This is based upon The Pack Horse Library Project founded by Eleanor Roosevelt, but also educated me about the “Blue People of Kentucky”

Olive: A Self-Effacing Character

Shelby Springfield in Built to Last by Erin Hahn is a character that started a new life, quietly working in a small town in Michigan refinishing homes with her father and furniture in her own business. She was happy in her new life and didn’t want to be back in the spotlight. She eventually does a home renovation show and ends up back in the limelight, but in a very different way.

So there we go, a very different Top Ten for me this week. Do you have any different suggestions for these prompts? Then you can share in the comments, or better yet, do this tag yourself. Merry Christmas!