Hello and Happy Friday! I decided to join in The Positivity Wave. Originally started by  Meggy s@Chocolate’n’Waffles but I saw it posted by nickimags @ The Secret Library Book Blog  and Jonetta@BlueMoodCafe. It is a time to spread some positivity amongst all the doom and gloom on social media and in the news. Please feel free to join in with your own Happy Friday post and link to Meggy’s post so that she knows and say ‘hi’

How healthy is the Canadian health-care system? | Faculty of Health Sciences | Queen's University | Faculty of Health Sciences | Queen's University

Once again, this is a two week post as I was out of town last Friday with my friend taking her to appointments. I am grateful that we have such wonderful medical care and that it is universal, so everyone can be treated and not go into catastrophic debt to do so.

I left my photo of the pool as my header because I am grateful that the temperatures are still nice enough for me to get in the pool almost everyday and exercise. Time is ticking though. Autumn officially starts in a few days.

Final sleepover for the two oldest grandchildren. Once they begin school, we will not be able to have in-person visits due to my health concerns. We made the most of it with swimming, sidewalk art, a trip to the park, puzzles and games.

Cooking for one is not a fun thing to do. I took the plunge and subscribed to one of the many food prep services. They send the recipes and the ingredients for two meals, each one for two. That means I get four meals per week at an introductory price of $18.00. I got my first one this week and it was quite tasty. My first meal was Steak with Balsamic Glazed Onions, although mine didn’t quite look the same, my presentation is not the best.

Steak and Balsamic Glazed Onions

Speaking of cooking, this week I made Beer Bread. It  is so easy and so tasty. Thanks to Diane at In Diane’s Kitchen for this recipe.

My church has finally reopened for In Person Worship. I was quite pleased with the precautions taken and I felt very comfortable. How peaceful and moving it was to worship in the church with other worshipers.

I am still golfing and enjoying getting out with others in a safe and fun activity.

I have read some wonderful books over the past couple of weeks and listened to quite a few audiobooks. With my eyes getting worse, Audiobooks have been my salvation. As well, my local library has reopened for in-person visits. I am going to see what playaway books they have when I visit this week.

School has started and it was decided that my grandchildren would attend in person. They were so excited to go back. I am happy for them, but sad that I won’t be seeing them for awhile as I am in the high risk group. It was my granddaughter’s very first day of JK and she loved it, always a princess.

I found a new website to watch sports. I watched the Detroit Lions opening game this year. Of course, they lost in the last two minutes again, so it looks like they are back to normal at least.

When my mom was sick, she asked each of us to pick one thing we wanted. I picked the old grandfather clock. It stopped working a few years ago and I always missed the ticking and the hourly chimes. Well, this week, I took it upon myself to see if I could get it going. Using shims to level it and moving it to a slightly different spot, I got it to work. It is running fast, so I have to keep adjusting the time, but I am loving having it running again.

Finally, here are a few things that made me smile and/or laugh this week.

 

I continue to believe that recognizing the good things that happen each week, means I will not dwell on the not so good things. I am truly blessed with all the good things in my life.

So to finish up, I ask that you try to be grateful for one thing each day and I am sure it will lift your spirits. What are you Grateful for today?