The Lost Bones (Detective Mackenzie Price #5) by Ruhi Choudhary

Published May 9th 2022 by Bookouture

About the Book: The woman’s skin was almost transparent. Her light hair darkened at the tips. Her lips were blue and slightly parted. But all Mackenzie could focus on were the eyes. Those arctic eyes that looked glassy like glistening marbles. She could see her own reflection in them staring back at her. The woman looked almost like a carefully crafted doll.

Detective Mackenzie Price knows what makes a killer tick. But when she finds the body of a young woman dumped in the trunk of her car, she knows this case is going to be the most personal and twisted yet.

Looking down at the victim, Mack recognises her instantly: Sophie Fields, the fiancée of Mack’s co-worker who vanished months before. Reeling in shock, Mack keeps one crucial piece of evidence to herself, too horrified to share it: a crumpled piece of paper bearing the words “You’re welcome, Mackenzie.”

As Mack pieces together Sophie’s last known movements, another body is found with a note. This time the victim is Courtney Montenegro, Mack’s childhood bully. As Mack looks at the note it becomes clear that the killer has an unusual MO: they want to protect her at all costs. But why?

The only evidence connecting the victims are identical pieces of material left at both crime scenes. With no other leads, Mack unearths a cold case which may lead her to the killer. Sophie had a sister who disappeared years before. Did she get too close to the truth and pay the ultimate price?

With an obsessive killer still on the loose, Mack knows that she needs to get deep inside their mind to work out who is next on the hit list. Can she get to the killer in time before someone close to her loses their life?

A completely gripping read that will have you on the edge of your seat, this addictive crime thriller is perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Kendra Elliot and Melinda Leigh.


4 Stars: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

The Lost Bones is the 5th in the Detective Mackenzie Price series by Ruhi Choudhary and it was definitely a gripping story. This series can be read as standalone stories with each case being solved before the book ends, but I recommend you read them all to get the full character development.

Detective Mackenzie Price of the Lakemore Police Department is returning from her morning run when she felt she was being watched. She notices the trunk of her car is open and when she investigates, is horrified to find a dead body inside. That is not all, the body is Sophie Fields who wen missing a year earlier and was the fiancé of one of her colleagues at the police department. There is also a personal note to Mackenzie that has her spiraling. When another woman goes missing, Mack realizes she was the girl who bullied her in grade school. She is also found dead with a message to Mack letting her know this is payback for hurting her. A second plotline has Mack finding an abused young woman running out of the woods. This Jane Doe seems to trust Mack, but isn’t forthcoming about what has happened to her. What is going on in Lakemore? Are these cases connected? Nick and Mack, along with other team members, combed the areas for clues, finally finding a connection, but when people in high places are once again involved, will they ever get a conviction?

Wow, this 5th book in the Detective Mackenzie Price series had me reading long after I should have been in bed. I was sure I had it all figured out, but twists and turns kept me guessing. We do see a different, more vulnerable Mack in this book. I love Mack’s and Nick’s relationship, both professional and their personal friendship that is so deep. Their team is like family, and even Jenna, who dislikes Mack for some reason, works to bring this case to a close. This will not be an easy book for some to read. There is sexual abuse, trafficking and prostitution, psychosis brought on by victimization, some gruesome crimes and more. This is a crime thriller that had me racing through the pages, wanting sure that the bad guys get their comeuppance. If you enjoy a good crime thriller/police procedural, then pick up The Lost Bones.


About the Author: Ruhi Choudhary discovered her passion for writing when she was seven years old and wrote her first Star Trek episode. Being a fan of the dark and twisted, she found her calling in crime thrillers. She likes to write stories that make you a little uncomfortable and characters that you struggle to make up your mind about but stay with you.

She lives in Toronto and spends her days training to be a scientist and wishing it rained more often!
Twitter: https://twitter.com/RuhiSChoudhary