Congratulations to Brenda Novak on the today’s release of Summer on the Island. Scroll down for my review of this entertaining summer read.

Summer on the Island by Brenda Novak

Published April 5th 2022 by MIRA

About the Book: For fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Nancy Thayer, New York Times bestselling author Brenda Novak’s newest standalone novel about friendship, family and the ties that bind and challenge us follows three friends as they escape to a coastal Florida town for the summer.

A summer of healing, friendship, love…and a secret that could change everything.

After the death of her US senator father, Marlow Madsen travels to the small island off the coast of Florida where she spent summers growing up to help her mother settle the family estate. For Marlow, the trip is a chance to reconnect after too long apart. It’s also the perfect escape to help her feel grounded again—one she’s happy to share with friends Aida and Claire, who are hoping to hit reset on their lives, too.

A leisurely beachfront summer promises the trio of women the opportunity to take deep healing breaths and explore new paths. But when her father’s will reveals an earth-shattering secret that tarnishes his impeccable reputation and everything she thought she knew about her family, Marlow finds herself questioning her entire childhood—and aspects of her future. Fortunately, her friends, and the most unlikely love interest she could imagine, prove that happiness can be found no matter what—as long as the right people are by your side.


5 Stars: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Summer on the Island is set just after the pandemic. Travel is once again possible and people are returning to work. Marlow has recently lost her father, a US Senator, and she wants to go spend time with her mother on Teach Island off the coast of Florida. She is tired of being a divorce attorney, seeing the worst side of people, the broken marriages ad unhappy families. She closes her practice in LA and invites two friends, Aida and Claire to spend the summer with her on Teach. Aida and Claire are dealing with their own issues and agree to go to reboot their lives. Once on the island we meet Rosemary and her two grown sons, Walker and Reese. Rosemary has worked for the Madsen family since before Marlow was born and she grew up with Walker, who loved her for years. He just wants to get through the summer and get Marlow out of his system. When Marlow meets with the family lawyer about her father’s will, secrets are revealed that will change many lives.

I loved this book and once I started reading it, I couldn’t put it down. I wanted to know what was going to happen between Walker and Marlow. I was surprised to see how Aida and Claire knew each other and still became friends, a very interesting character development there. There are not a lot of characters in this story, but each one played an important role in the story. The story has a mystery to it and well as some other issues that add to the storyline making it multi-dimensional. There are a few twists and plenty of romance, some of it steamier than I like (you can skim those parts and not lose anything from the main plots). I loved the beach setting and the family beach house named Seaclusion. Who wouldn’t want to spend three months in a three bedroom guesthouse, where the housekeeper/cook/companion from the main house cooks most of your delicious meals? The characters that were realistic and relatable and I love the ones I should have and disliked some of the others. I really loved Marlow and wanted her to find what she was looking for. The story was well-paced, with enough action in each chapter to keep me engaged. If you enjoy stories of romance, new beginnings, family drama, and secrets with a touch of mystery I recommend this book. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book upon request. The rating and opinions shared are my own.

Purchase Links: Brenda Novak StoreBookshop.orgAmazonBarnes & NobleBooks a MillionIndigoIndie BoundWalmart


About the Author: Brenda Novak, a New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author, has penned over sixty novels. She is a five-time nominee for the RITA Award and has won the National Reader’s Choice, the Bookseller’s Best, the Bookbuyer’s Best, and many other awards.

Brenda and her husband, Ted, live in Sacramento and are the proud parents of five children—three girls and two boys. When she’s not spending time with her family or writing, Brenda is usually raising money for diabetes research. Her youngest son, Thad, has diabetes, and Brenda is determined to help him and others like him. She also enjoys traveling, playing pickle ball, hiking and biking — she rides an amazing 20 miles several times a week!

She runs Brenda Novak for the Cure, a charity to raise money for diabetes research. To date, she’s raised $2.5 million.

SOCIAL MEDIA: Website TwitterFacebookInstagramGoodreads