Happy Publication Day to Liz Eeles on the publishing of The Girl at the Last House Before the Sea, the third book in her Heaven’s Cove series. I have enjoyed all three books in this series and definitely recommend this series. Thanks to Bookouture for m copy of this book to read and review. The opinions and rating are my own,

The Girl at the Last House Before the Sea (Heaven’s Cove #3) by Liz Eeles

Published February 28th 2022 by Bookouture

The girl stands on the clifftop, feeling the soft breeze lift her shining red hair and dry her tears. She can almost hear Ireland calling her home across the wild sea. But she can never go back. And in that moment, she swears no-one will ever find out why.

Freya is desperate for escape from her messy break-up when she’s offered a job caring for elderly Kathleen in the seaside village of Heaven’s Cove. Kathleen’s once-red hair is now a brilliant white, but there’s always laughter in her Irish lilt – until the day Freya finds her weeping, her gaze fixed on Driftwood House, perched on the cliffs above the village. She refuses to say what’s wrong…

Kathleen’s son Ryan, quiet with striking emerald eyes, resents that a stranger is caring for his mother. But as Freya presses him for answers on a long walk across a windswept beach, Ryan finally admits that Kathleen breaks down in the same way, on the exact same day every year – never telling anyone what is causing her pain.

Finding a photo of Kathleen as a young girl standing outside Driftwood House years before she says she moved to the village, Freya is determined to find the source of Kathleen’s heartache. But as she gets closer to Ryan, and to the sad, forgotten history of the house, Freya is faced with an impossible decision…

Should she share this heartbreaking secret with Ryan and risk their chance of happiness together? And will facing the truth bring Kathleen peace in her final years – or will it tear them all apart?

An absolutely breath-taking and heartbreaking page-turner about healing old sorrows and finding new joys. Perfect for fans of Debbie Macomber, Barbara O’Neal, and anyone longing to escape to the rugged Devon coast.


5 Stars: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I thoroughly enjoyed my previous two visits to Heaven’s Cove and was excited to read her latest book, The Girl at the Last House Before the Sea. Liz Eeles did not disappoint me, and this is another amazing book. This is part of the Heaven’s Cove series, but can be read without reading the previous books. There are some recurring characters, which I enjoyed seeing again, but each story stands alone.

Freya arrives in Heaven’s Cove hoping for a fresh start. She and her husband recently ended their marriage, and the care home she worked for was closed due to disrepair and danger to the residents. She has nowhere to go, so heads to Heaven’s Cove where her half-sister, Belinda lives and has lined up a job looking after Kathleen, an 83 year old woman, who wants to remain in her home. Belinda is something else. She does a lot for the town, but her love of gossip and lack of tact makes everyone wary, to the point where they cross the street when they see her coming. Kathleen really didn’t want someone living in her home taking care of her, but a kitchen fire has her agreeing to a one month trial. It doesn’t take long for Freya to become part of the family. Kathleen, her son Ryan and granddaughter Chloe soon come to rely on Freya as well have feelings for her. But Kathleen has a secret. Why does she want a view of Driftwood House, but be afraid to visit or talk about it? Her secrets might destroy the growing relationship between Freya and Ryan.

The story is told from multiple POVs from Freya, Ryan and his daughter Chloe. I absolutely loved the main characters in this book. The intergenerational relationship between Kathleen and Freya was wonderful. They were carer and patient, but they were also friends, sharing secrets and feelings. Ryan was trying to raise his twelve year old daughter alone after the death of his wife, work and take care of his mother, which is extremely difficult. Then there is Chloe, sometimes, sweet, more often sullen as teens can be. She is trying to desperately fit in at school and in the community and makes some mistakes along the way, but Freya helps her work through some issues. This a well written and plotted, heartwarming story. It is emotional at times, has some humour and some angst. This is a story that shows how secrets can affect not only the person with the secret, but others that are trusted with the secret and family members. A wonderful story with romance, family, grief, guilt, self-discovery and secrets. I really enjoyed it and look forward to more visits to Heaven’s Cove.

Buy link: https://geni.us/B09HKT5HM2social


About the Author: Liz writes heart-warming and uplifting women’s fiction about families and relationships, and romantic comedies full of love and laughs.

She worked as a journalist for years and brought up a family on the south coast of England, all the while writing fiction on the quiet. After being short-listed in a couple of national novel-writing competitions, her dream of being a published author came true when she was signed by Bookouture.

When not writing, Liz likes walking by the sea, catching up with friends and binge-watching box sets. She also loves hearing from readers and can be contacted at www.lizeeles.com, or on social media.

Author social media: WebsiteTwitterFacebookInstagram