The Child I Never Had by Kate Hewitt

Published February 10th 2022 by Bookouture

About the Book: If you had to make an impossible choice to save your long-lost daughter, you would… wouldn’t you?

It’s a warm early summer’s evening when Mia’s doorbell rings. She opens the door to see a teenage girl standing in the shadow beyond the porch light—and in an instant she knows who it is. Daisy, the daughter she gave up as a baby. Daisy steps forward, as she says tearfully “I’m sorry I didn’t call first. But something happened. And I really needed… you.”

Seventeen years before, knowing she couldn’t possibly give her beautiful little girl Daisy the future she deserved, Mia made the hardest decision of her life—to give her up. And Suzanne seemed the perfect adoptive mother: calm, stable, and full of love for the daughter she’d always dreamed of having.

The two mothers promised to keep communication open, so Daisy could have Mia’s love and support along with Suzanne’s. But as the years passed, Mia moved away, and their visits happened less. Now Daisy is almost a stranger to Mia—angry, closed and broken—nothing like the tiny girl she once couldn’t bear to say goodbye to.

But now Daisy has arrived on Mia’s doorstep, and she says she has a terrible secret. One she can never tell Suzanne. And she believes the only person who can help her is Mia. Her birth mother.

Mia, however, has secrets of her own. Ones she is afraid to let Daisy or anyone else know. And while Suzanne desperately seeks a way to bring her child home, can Mia overcome her past to help the girl they both call their daughter in her darkest hour before it’s too late?

Totally gripping emotional women’s fiction from the author guaranteed to make readers cry. Kate Hewitt’s story will grab you by the heartstrings and never let you go. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Diane Chamberlain and Jojo Moyes.


4 Stars: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Suzanne and Mark were not able to have a child of their own, so decided to adopt. They are selected by twenty-year-old Mia, to adopt her child. Suzanne was there when Mia gave birth to a little girl they called Daisy. Mia suggested an open adoption to Suzanne and Mark, which meant Mia would always be in Daisy’s life, even though her legal parents were Suzanne and Mark. When Daisy was young they saw each other often, but when Mia married and moved to North Carolina, those visits were less and less. Not only did she no longer see MIa, but her relationship with her mother, Suzanne is also falling apart. Something happens when Daisy turns seventeen and she tells her mom she wants to go live with Mia and her family for her senior high school year. Mia is not sure if she wants Daisy to stay as she has secrets of her own.

The Child I Never Had is told from three different POVs: Mia,Suzanne, and Daisy. It is also told in two timelines, the present and flashbacks from 2004 when Daisy was born and up until her 16th birthday. We get to know these three women and see their relationships. I felt bad for Mia and Suzanne trying to share a daughter. Daisy had a lot of issues. She was hurt, confused and felt that no one really cared for her and used aggression, anger and attitude to cover for feelings. It was interesting to see how adoption can affect both the child and the parent. Of course secrets always come out eventually and their are repercussions along the way. Kate Hewitt has penned a contemporary family drama that is emotional, poignant, heartbreaking, full of secrets and surprises. If you enjoy family stories, then I recommend this one to you. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book upon request. The rating and opinions shared are my own.

Purchase Links: AmazonAppleKoboGoogle

Audio Links: USUK

Listen to a sample here:


About the Author: Kate Hewitt is the author of many romance and women’s fiction novels. A former New Yorker and now an American ex-pat, she lives in a small town on the Welsh border with her husband, five children, and their overly affectionate Golden Retriever. Whatever the genre, she enjoys telling stories that tackle real issues and touch people’s lives.

Social Media Links: Website – Facebook –Twitter