Murder at the Wedding (Miss Underhay #7) by Helena Dixon

Published October 6th 2021 by Bookouture

About the Book: ’Till death do us part may come sooner than they thought…

1934. Kitty Underhay steps out of the battered Rolls Royce and onto the gravelled driveway of Thurscomb Castle in deepest Yorkshire. She’s honoured to be a bridesmaid at her cousin Lucy’s wedding to the reluctant Lord Rupert Woodcomb, but as family and friends gather for welcome drinks, Kitty dodges intrusive questions about her own marital status by taking a stroll about the castle grounds. As she passes through the manicured gardens, a fatal shot rings out…

The valet, Evans, is dead. And Kitty can’t help but notice how rattled the man standing next to him seems. Could Rupert’s best man, The Right Honourable Alexander ‘Sandy’ Galsworthy, believe the speeding bullet was meant for him?

When she discovers that Sandy has been receiving blackmail notes, Kitty suspects that one of the assembled guests has plans to make good on their threats. The local constabulary won’t act on Kitty’s hunch, so, busy with her bridesmaid’s duties, she asks her beau, ex-army captain Matthew Bryant, to help.

The ceremony passes without a hitch. But when an anxious Sandy slips away during the dancing, Matt follows, only to make a hideous discovery: Sandy is dead, flattened on the terrace by some falling masonry.

Now the duo are sure that there is a murderer within the castle walls. But can they untangle Sandy’s final hours and catch this killer before they strike again, or will the wedding bells be replaced by a death knell for Kitty herself…?

A completely charming and unputdownable cozy historical Golden Age murder mystery! Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Lee Strauss.


4 Stars: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

It was 1934 and Kitty Underhay and her maid Alice head for Thurscomb Castle in Yorkshire, where Kitty will be a bridesmaid for her cousin Lucy’s wedding. Many guests begin arriving at the castle, with a lot of coming and going. Two of Rupert’s friends from childhood, Sinclair and Sandy, are invited with their wives. When a servant of Sandy’s father-in-law is shot and killed, the suspicion is that Sandy was the intended target. When another murder occurs, Kitty becomes even more curious and both her and her friend Captain Matthew Bryant, a PI, become involved in the investigation, much to the chagrin of the local constabulary. Who was the culprit? What were the reasons? Will Matt and Kitty solve the mystery before someone else is hurt?

Murder at the Wedding is the 7th in the Miss Underhay series by Helena Dixon. I have not read them all, but I am working my way through the previous books in the series. There is an overreaching story arc that runs through the books, so if you can, I would start at the beginning. I really like Kitty and Matt. They are both likable, relatable, rational people and they get along well as well as work well together solving crimes. They both have some things in their past that interfere with their relationship at times, but I am hoping their relationship proceeds. This is a well-plotted story, with several suspects and plenty of red herrings. The mystery is interesting and kept me guessing. At times it seems it was someone outside of the gifts and at others, it was a bit of a closed door mystery. It is also a character driven series and I love knowing what is going on in the lives of the various characters in this historical fiction story. I recommend this one for mystery lovers, cozy mystery lovers, and fans of the golden age. I really enjoyed it. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book upon request. The rating and opinions shared are my own.

Buy Link: Amazon


About the Author: Nell Dixon was born and continues to live in the Black Country. Married to the same man for over thirty-five years she has three daughters, a cactus called Spike, a crazy cockapoo and a tank of tropical fish. She is allergic to adhesives, apples, tinsel and housework. Her addictions of choice are coffee and reality TV. She was winner of The Romance Prize in 2007 with her book Marrying Max, and winner of Love Story of the Year 2010 with her book, Animal Instincts. She also writes contemporary romantic fiction as Nell Dixon.

Author Social Media Links: Website – Facebook – Twitter