Find Me at Whisper Falls by Ellyn Oaksmith

Published September 30th 2021 by Bookouture

Book Description: Two old rivals. One dream job. And a summer they’ll never forget.

Freya Johanssen needs a fresh start. A recently heartbroken and newly-qualified veterinarian, she will take any job that gets her away from Seattle—for now. Her plan is to spend two years in the small town of Whisper Falls, and then head back to the city and civilization.

And then Trent Crossley shows up, and her carefully laid plans are blown to pieces. He’s the last person she expected—or wanted—ever to see again. This is the guy who thinks he’s God’s gift to women; who breezed through vet school without studying and who betrayed her in a way she’ll never forgive. She thinks he’s an arrogant party boy; he thinks she’s an uptight perfectionist. Now he’s in her clinic, and the fluttering in her stomach must mean she’s still mad at him.

It seems they have both been hired for the same job—and now neither is backing down. But as Freya works to outdo Trent at every turn, she starts to see a different side to the man she thought she knew. Falling in love was never part of her plan. And if she wants the new beginning she’s worked so hard for, can she afford to give away her heart?

A totally unputdownable feel-good read about finding yourself, and love, in the most unexpected places. Fans of Virgin River, Debbie Macomber, Jill Shalvis and Carolyn Brown will love Find Me at Whisper Falls.


4.5 Stars: 

This is the first book I have read by Ellyn Oaksmith, but it definitely won’t be my last. I really enjoyed this story and definitely recommend it. In Find Me at Whisper Falls we meet Freya Johanssen and Trent Crossley. They have just graduated first and second in their class as Veterinarians. Both are looking for a new start and the job advertised for Whisper Falls appeals to them. They both apply and are invited to come to town for an interview, basically given the job, by two different town councilors. They do not know that the other has applied and is expecting to get the job. Freya does not like Trent due to an experience at grad school and she is not happy to see him at “her clinic”. Not knowing who is going to get the job, they agree to a trial period. They will both work for eight weeks, then the town council can decide which of them to award the job to. They move into the house provided with the job, set up the clinic together and go about working in Wisper Falls. May the best veterinarian and person win.

I enjoyed everything about this book. I really enjoyed learning about being a vet in a farming community. The animals we meet are all wonderful, especially the dogs that come with the practice. The characters are well-developed, personable, relatable and realistic. The farmers, the townsfolk and even Joan, who comes to work at the clinic all add to the small town feeling. I laughed at the comment from Trent that they had been interviewed by her, not the other way around. This was a fun, heartwarming, romance that left me feeling good. It was well plotted with some turmoil, sadness, and a few self-serving characters, but an overall uplifting story. I waffled back and forth between Trent and Freya, but always had my desired outcome from about halfway through the story. Ellyn Oaksmith has a new fan and I recommend this book to those who enjoy animals, contemporary romance, and happy endings. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book upon request. The rating and opinions shared are my own.

Purchase Links: Amazon AppleKoboGoogle


About the Author: Ellyn Oaksmith is the USA Today and Kindle bestselling author of the Blue Hills Series, featuring the Alvarez family. After graduating from Smith College and attaining her MFA from The American Film Institute, Ellyn began her writing career as an award-winning screenwriter in Hollywood. Her books explore the same themes as her screenplays: grit, humor, family and love. Ellyn lives on one of Seattle’s many hills with her husband and spends as much time as possible on the water as part of a competitive rowing team.

Social Media: WebsiteFacebookInstagramTwitter