Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Harlequin Trade Publishing Summer 2021 – Women’s Fiction. Now I did read Confessions from the Quilting Circle and loved it, but this post is about The Summer of No Attachments by Lori Foster. This was the perfect summer read while relaxing by the pool and listening to while working in the yard and garden. Scroll down for my review of this delightful story.

The Summer of No Attachments by Lori Foster, Narrated by Marni Penning

Expected publication: June 22nd 2021 by HQN, Harlequin Audio

336 pages, 11 hours and 7 minutes

About the Book: From New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Lori Foster comes the heartwarming story of two best friends who cross paths with a pair of new-in-town brothers with one angry little boy in tow. A standalone story of second chances at life and love, with found family and rescued animals, perfect for fans of Jill Shalvis, Sarah Morgan, and Lori Wilde.

Summer flings with no strings mean nobody gets hurt. At least, that was the plan…

After putting the brakes on her dead-end relationship, local veterinarian Ivey Anders is ready to soak up this summer on her own terms. The way she sees it, no dating means no disappointment. Why complicate life with anything long-term? But when she meets Corbin Meyer—and his troubled young son, Justin—Ivey’s no-strings strategy threatens to unravel before she can put it into practice.

Trust doesn’t come easy for Ivey’s best friend, Hope Mage, a veterinary-clinic assistant who’s been affected by an incident that’s colored every relationship she’s had. Though Hope’s happy for Ivey, she can’t quite open her own heart to the possibility of love. Not just yet… Maybe not ever. Soon, however, she’s faced with a dilemma—Corbin’s older brother, Lang. He’s charming, he’s kind…and he may just be the reason Hope needs to finally tear down her walls.

And as the sweet summer months unspool, the two friends discover love won’t give up on them so easily.


58350097. sx318

5 Stars: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

This is the second book in the Summer Friends series by Lori Foster, but it is a standalone story. I do recommend the first book, The Sommerset Girls, that came out in May of 2020. The Summer of No Attachments was a wonderful story of romance, friendship, family relationships and moving beyond out fears. Ivey Anders just ended a relationship that was going nowhere and decided that this summer she would date, with no strings and no plans for anything more than a casual fling. Her best friend and co-worker, Hope Mage, is also not looking for a relationship. She had something happen in her past that has caused her not to trust anyone. Plans change when Ivey and Hope meet brothers Corbin and Lang Meyer. Sometimes our hearts have a mind and plan of their own.

I loved this story. The characters were amazing. So relatable and people that I would love to meet and be friends with. As much as there are two romances in this book, Ivey’s and Corbin’s is the main one. As much as I liked these characters, it was Justin, Corbin’s ten year old son that stole my heart. He had been through so much in his short life, but I was thrilled when he began to open up and show trust and love in his new family. Then there were the animals that were also integral to this story. I wanted one of those puppies. Hope and Ivey are wonderful friends, supporting one another, caring and also giving them the push they need to move forward. It was great to see them both find someone, and that they were brothers was great. This is a great story that has some tense moments when Hope has to deal with issues from her past, but it is done with sensitivity. There are a couple of descriptive intimate scenes, but not excessive. If you are looking for a wonderful, uplifting summer romance, then The Summer of No Attachments is for you. I did a read/listen with this book and I loved both formats. Marni Penning does a wonderful job with this story. The voices she gave the characters all worked well, especially young Justin. I do not hesitate to recommend this book to those who enjoy up-lit, contemporary romance and books that deal with family issues. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book upon request. The rating and opinions shared are my own.

Buy Links: Bookshop.orgAmazon Barnes & NobleBooks-A-MillionIndie Bound


About the Author: Since first publishing in January 1996, Lori Foster has become a New York Times, USA Today, and Publisher’s Weekly bestselling author. She lives in Central Ohio where coffee helps her keep up with her cats and grandkids between writing books. For more about Lori, visit her website at http://www.lorifoster.com, like her on Facebook or find her on Twitter, @lorilfoster.

Social Media Links: WebsiteFacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube