A Letter to the Last House Before the Sea by Liz Eeles

Published May 19th 2021 by Bookouture

About the Book: High on the clifftops, Lettie takes a deep breath of salty air and opens the letter. There is no signature, and the old-fashioned handwriting is faint against the yellowed paper. The message, and the tiny gold key inside, will turn her life upside down…

Lettie Starcross makes her way along the cobbled streets of Heaven’s Cove, clutching a little key and searching for answers about her kind, twinkly-eyed Great Aunt Iris, whom she misses terribly. With no job back home, and no-one in her family understanding how adrift she feels, Lettie wonders if her aunt was lonely just like her – is that why she fled this pretty seaside village years ago and never returned?

Staying at Driftwood House where Iris lived, now a cosy B&B, Lettie can almost hear Iris’s laughter on the breeze. And when she locks eyes with brooding fisherman Corey as he’s singing a haunting sea shanty in the local tavern, the sparks that fly between them are a welcome distraction from her grief.

But everything changes when Lettie meets Corey’s grandmother. Hearing the name ‘Iris Starcross’, her wrinkled face turns pale. Then she tells Lettie a devastating secret: seventy years ago, a choice Iris made tore apart this tight-knit community.

Heartbroken, Lettie questions if she ever really understood her beloved aunt – and if Corey knew about this shocking rift all along. So when her sister calls begging her to come home, Lettie is torn. If she stays to find what the key unlocks, can she discover the truth about what Iris did – and fight for her own fresh start? Or will she be the next Starcross woman to run from Heaven’s Cove forever?

An absolutely gorgeous read that will whisk you away to the stunning Devon coast, about family secrets, long-lost love and coming home. Perfect for fans of Debbie Macomber, Rosanna Ley and Sheila O’Flanagan.


5 Stars: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

This is the second book in the Heaven’s Cove series and starts where the last one ended. You can read this as a standalone book, but I recommend reading Secrets at the Last House Before the Sea first so you don’t spoil that story. I am that confident that after reading this one, you would want to go back and read the first one.

In this story we meet Lettie Starcross, a young woman who is looking for answers as to why her recently deceased Aunt Iris left Heaven’s Cove never to return. She was left with a small brass key on a necklace, a hidden letter and a request from her aunt, “And find out for me darling girl.” She knows that her aunt used to live in Driftwood House at the start of the war and so she decides that staying there is where her journey should begin. When she begins to ask the locals questions about Aunt Iris, she runs into roadblocks, most are too young to have known her, and those that do, don’t want to talk about her. Can she get anyone to open up to her and discover the secrets that are hidden in Heaven’s Cove?

I love the village of Heaven’s Cove. The eccentric villagers, the busybodies, the beautiful scenery, the closeness and the local pub all make me want to head to Devon. I really liked Lettie and wanted her to find what she was looking for not only for her Aunt, but for herself. She loved her aunt and was very close to her, in fact she was the only one who encouraged Lettie to find what she really wanted out of life. Her mother and sister take advantage of her, but she lets them. Her caring nature and love of history, endeared her to me and the villagers. Of course Rosie, Liam and Belinda are all back along with some new characters. Florence Allford and Claude, the oldest people in the village are wonderful. They are both a bit eccentric and crotchety, but they come around under Lettie’s caring and honest nature and play a large role in this story. You can’t have a book like this without a swoon worthy male lead. Corey Allford is just that. All I will say is that he has some baggage, but had a hard time resisting Lettie. A Letter to the Last House Before the Sea is a story of friendship, letting go of the past, finding happiness, and self-discovery. It is a delightfully uplifting story that will let you escape to Devon for a few hours of pleasure. I definitely recommend this story. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book upon request. The rating and opinions shared are my own.

Purchase Links: AmazonAppleKoboGoogle


About the Author: Liz began her writing career as a journalist and press officer before deciding that she’d rather have the freedom of making things up as a novelist. 

Being short-listed in the Corvus ‘Love at First Write’ competition and the Novelicious search for a new women’s fiction star gave Liz the push she needed to keep putting pen to paper …. and ‘Annie’s Holiday by the Sea’ (her first published novel) is the result. 

Liz lives on the South Coast with her family and, when she’s not writing, likes to spend time walking by the sea, and trying to meditate. Her ambition is to be serene one day …. she’s still got a long way to go.

Author Social Media Links: FacebookTwitterInstagram