Little Boy Lost (Detective Mackenzie Price #3) by Ruhi Choudhary

Published May 6th 2021 by Bookouture

Synopsis: The clear sky burst into flames of peach and gold, illuminating the small body leaning against the rocks. He looked even smaller than he had in the photos, purple marks blemishing his neck. His eyes were open, staring ahead at the vastness of the still water.

When three nine-year-old boys go missing on a field trip to Lakemore’s annual spring festival, panic tears through the small town. Detective Mackenzie Price and her partner Nick Blackwood lead the search, but no trace of the boys is found—until one of them is found murdered, a note stuffed down his throat.

“Find Johnny’s killer, or they all die.”

Johnny was supposedly a victim of Jeremiah, a serial killer Nick helped put behind bars nearly a decade ago for the murder of ten young boys. But when Mack and Nick pay him a visit, he claims that he knows nothing—and that he remains innocent of Johnny’s murder.

Then a second boy is found, another clue left on his body, leaving just one left alive. Desperate to save the last boy’s life, Mackenzie and Nick comb over Jeremiah’s case, only to discover proof of a shocking cover-up—and a killer who will stop at nothing to right the wrongs of the past.

Packed full of shocking twists and nail-biting suspense, Little Boy Lost is a truly unputdownable crime thriller, perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, Lisa Regan and Angela Marsons.


Little Boy Lost (Detective Mackenzie Price, #3)

5 Stars: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Little Boy Lost is the third instalment in the Detective Mackenzie ”Mack” Price series, set in Lakemore, Washington. The actual crimes in the book are self-contained, but I recommend you read these books in order as there is a lot of character development and past events that you would miss. There are two storylines happening simultaneously. Mack’s father was recently killed and what was originally ruled a robbery is not being investigated as something else. Mack seems to be a suspect even though she thought her had died twenty years ago and only recently knew he was alive in the last few months. There are a lot of secrets involving this plotline that are uncovered as the story progresses. The second situation involves three nine-year-old boys who disappear on a school fieldtrip. When the first one shows up dead with the same signature as a serial killer that Mack’s partner, Detective Nick Blackwood arrested ten years earlier, it is intimated that Jeremiah did not kill the last victim, Johnny Cooper. Mack is directed to go over all the evidence from Johnny’s death with a fine tooth comb and she uncovers some inconsistencies. Both of these situations take their toll on both Mack and Nick. Will they find the last two boys before another ends up dead? Will they figure out what happened to Charles Laurent?

This book has a lot going on, but Ruhi Choudhary does a great job of juggling these two plotlines into an excellent story. I really like Mack’s character. She has some baggage that she has been dealing with for many years and they effect all her decisions. She is driven, smart and extremely observant which makes her good at her job. She and Nick are best friends and are able to work together and help each other when they are dealing with emotions and negative feelings. Nick is a separated dad who loves his daughter Luna. She is a sweetheart, although a bit sassy. I enjoyed her character as she brought some lightness into the story. Nick is a dedicated cop who puts too much pressure on himself, but fortunately, both Luna and Mack can help him not too spiral. The crimes/mysteries are very well written and easily pulled me into this story. The writing is engaging and easy to relate to. There were enough suspects and twists to keep me guessing right until the final reveal, I mean literal reveal when the mask is pulled off. It all fit well together and was believable, although a bit crazy. There is a lot of action, drama and tension, and there’s never a dull moment. For a small town, there sure is a lot of darkness, corruption and crazy happening. If you enjoy a good police procedural, with some twists, then this series is definitely for you. I recommend the Detective Mackenzie Price series. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book upon request. The rating and ideas shared are my own.

PURCHASE LINKS: AmazonAppleKoboGoogle


About the Author: Ruhi Choudhary discovered her passion for writing when she was seven years old and wrote her first Star Trek episode. Being a fan of the dark and twisted, she found her calling in crime thriller.

She likes to write stories that make you a little uncomfortable and characters that you struggle to make up your mind about but stay with you.

She lives in Toronto and spends her days training to be a scientist and wishing it rained more often!

Author Social Media Links: Twitter