56963876. sx318

The Last Goodbye by Fiona Lucas, Antonia Beamish (Narrator)

Expected publication: June 8th 2021 by HarperAudio

Length: 11 hours, 28 minutes

About the Book: Poignant, hopeful, and full of emotional power, an unforgettable story in the vein of P.S. I Love You about two people learning to love again after great loss, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Josie Silver.

How can you move on if you can’t let go?

Spencer was the love of Anna’s life: her husband, her best friend, her rock. She thought their love would last forever. But three years ago, Spencer was tragically killed in an accident and Anna’s world was shattered. How can she ever move on, when she’s lost her soulmate? On New Year’s Eve Anna calls Spencer’s phone number, just to hear his old voicemail greeting. But to her shock, someone answers…

Brody has inherited Spencer’s old number and is the first person who truly understands what Anna’s going through. As her and Brody’s phone calls become lengthier and more frequent, they begin opening up to each other—and slowly rediscover how to smile, how to laugh, even how to hope. But Brody hasn’t been entirely honest with Anna. Will his secret threaten everything, just as it seems she might find the courage to love again?


The Last Goodbye

5 Stars:⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

How can you move on if you can’t let go? This sentence sums up this story nicely. Spencer was Anna’s soulmate. They thought they would be together forever, but three years ago, Spencer was killed in a terrible accident. Some people think she should move on, Spencer’s mother blames her for his death and thinks she should sacrifice any further happiness. On New Year’s Eve, Anna calls Spencer’s phone number to hear his voice, but is shocked when someone answers the phone. The bills she thought she had been paying were not paid and his number was given to someone else. That someone else is Brody Scott. Brody is dealing with his own issues, but we do not know exactly what has happened until much later in the book. They begin a phone relationship, and feelings begin to develop. Will they be able to move forward with their lives or be stuck where they are forever.

My husband passed away four years ago, so I understand grief, survivor’s guilt and that feeling of loss and betrayal. All things that Anna felt. The difference is Anna is still young and has a lot of living to do. I enjoyed reading about Anna’s and Brody’s relationship and how they grew to care about each other. I was surprised when I learned about all that Brody was keeping secret from Anna. He had a lot to deal with and it is no wonder he is such a tough spot, even ten years later. The Last Goodbye was a very heartbreaking and emotional story. Most of the characters were likable and even though Spenser’s mother was a “biotch” with a capital B, she comes around in the end and her and Anna almost have a moment. I listened to the audiobook narrated by Antonia Beamish. She is another narrator that I enjoy. Her voice, expression, tone and pacing were very well done and added much to this story. I recommend this book to those who like a romance, but one that is realistic, touching and shows emotional growth. The publisher generously provided me a copy of this book upon request. The rating and opinions shared are my own.