Missing For Good by Alex Coombs

​Published September 24, 2020 by Boldwood Books

Genre: Crime / Thriller

Standalone Second book in a series

About the Book: Is she alive, or is she missing for good…?

When the estranged daughter of Scotland’s premier art dealer goes missing, Private Investigator Hanlon is hired to find out where Aurora is.

But what she thinks will be a relatively straightforward job, soon turns dangerous. The missing girl has a troubled past but what made Aurora suddenly pack her bags and disappear?

Hanlon has her work cut out for her. The stakes are rising and she needs to get to the bottom of the case before someone else is attacked.

And is Aurora still alive, or is she missing for good?

A gripping new case for feisty female Private Investigator, Hanlon. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Bryndza and Lisa Regan.


4 Stars: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

This is not the first PI Hanlon book, but there was enough background throughout the book, that I was not lost at all reading this one. This is a gritty, graphic and violent story. It is not my usual genre and there were parts that had me a bit squeamish, but the story itself was quite good. Hanlon is hired by a rich art dealer to find his missing daughter. The reader are aware that she is in hiding after escaping a hit that had been placed on her by a drug kingpin. What we don’t know is why. Hanlon is one of those PIs that people have no problem talking to. She is able to get all kinds of information from people she questions. The more she finds out, the more she puts herself in danger. She is fearless and does not give up. She is a smart, tenacious investigator who trusts her instincts to guide her when working a case. There are some other characters that are an integral part of the story and they are all fleshed out well. I really liked Luke, Aurora’s ex-boyfriend and Hanlon’s dog Wemyss. She actually compares Luke to having another dog to take care of, which was kind of funny. This is an exciting and intriguing crime thriller and it took no time at all for the plot to grab me. It’s gritty, suspenseful and full of drama. As I said earlier, it is brutal and graphic at times, so not for the faint hearted. While I enjoyed the plotline and several of the characters, it was a tough read for me. If you enjoy a gritty, graphic crime thriller, then you will probably love this one. I was gifted a copy of this book upon request. The rating and opinions shared are my own.

Purchase Link: Amazon

About the Author: Alex Howard was born in Lambeth, London in 1961. He grew up in Buckinghamshire, Bourne End and was educated at grammar school in Marlow & then studied Arabic and Islamic History at St Peter’s College Oxford and Edinburgh University. He went on to work in adult education and then retrained to be a chef. He has written four well reviewed crime novels as Alex Howard. His sixth book was published by Boldwood in September 2020. He is married with two children.

Social Media Links: NewsletterWebsiteTwitterFacebook