Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The English Wife. Thanks to Rachel’s Random Resources for my invitation to participate in this tour and share my review with you.

The English Wife by Adrienne Chinn
​Published by One More Chapter, June 25. 2020
Genre: Historical Romance Timeslip
Standalone Novel

About the Book: Two women, a world apart.

A secret waiting to be discovered…

VE Day 1945: As victory bells ring out across the country, war bride Ellie Burgess’ happiness is overshadowed by grief. Her charismatic Newfoundlander husband Thomas is still missing in action. Until a letter arrives explaining Thomas is back at home on the other side of the Atlantic recovering from his injuries. Travelling to a distant country to live with a man she barely knows is the bravest thing Ellie has ever had to do. But nothing can prepare her for the harsh realities of her new home…

September 11th 2001: Sophie Parry is on a plane to New York on the most tragic day in the city’s history. While the world watches the news in horror, Sophie’s flight is rerouted to a tiny town in Newfoundland and she is forced to seek refuge with her estranged Aunt Ellie.

Determined to discover what it was that forced her family apart all those years ago, newfound secrets may change her life forever…

This is a timeless story of love, sacrifice and resilience perfect for fans of Lorna Cook and Gill Paul.


4 Stars:

This story was a family saga that stretched from England in 1941, then to Newfoundland in 1945 to 1965. Fast forward to 2001, when planes are diverted to Newfoundland when the twin towers came down and then again in 2011. Four generations, accidents, decisions, fate, war, secrets and life all play a part in the direction the family takes.

When Ellie is 11 and Dottie is 4, their mother is hit by a car and killed. This changes their lives forever. Ellie becomes like a mother to her sister, but Dottie develops an unhealthy obsession with her. Ellie falls in love with a soldier from Tippy’s Tickle, Newfoundland and they eventually get married, but not without a lot of hurdles from the war. When the war ends, Ellie heads off to Newfoundland with her young son, Emmett to begin her new life. Sophie has the address of her Aunt Ellie who lives in Newfoundland in her address book. They have never met or even spoken, but when she is grounded in Gander, she does not want to stay in a highschool gymnasium with hundreds of other people. She gets a ride on the back of a motorcycle to her aunt’s home. What evolves from this chance encounter, changes not only Sophie’s and Ellie’s lives, but others in the community.

I enjoyed meeting the characters and watching them change. The community of Tippy’s Tickle was a delight. The residents were quirky, but very happy and content with their lives. Being Canadian, I enjoyed reading about this area and learning more about the one province I have not yet been to. The story was slow moving at times, but was well-written and plotted. I knew there had to be some secrets that would affect the story and the lives of Sophie, Emmett, Sam and Becca, but I was not sure what they could be. The section about the beached whales was disconcerting to me, although I know these things happen. It was not until later in the book that the importance of that event was revealed. Adrienne is a new author to me and I enjoyed her story enough that I will watch for more from her. If you enjoy a story with dual timelines, family secrets, some historical fiction and beautiful descriptions of a place you have not visited, then this story would be for you. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book upon request. The rating, ideas and opinions shared are my own.

Purchase LInk: Amazon USAmazon UK

About the Author: Adrienne Chinn was born in Grand Falls, Newfoundland, grew up in Quebec, and eventually made her

way to London, England after a career as a journalist. In England she worked as a TV and film researcher before embarking on a career as an interior designer, lecturer, and writer. When not up a ladder or at the computer, she can usually be found rummaging through flea markets orhaggling in the Marrakech souk. Her second novel, The English Wife — a timeslip story set in World War II England and contemporary Newfoundland — is published in June 2020. Her debut novel, The Lost Letter from Morocco, was published by Avon Books UK in 2019. She is currently writing her third novel, The Photographer’s Daughters, the first of a 3-book series, to be published in 2021.

Social Media Links – FacebookInstagramTwitter