A Cowboy’s Christmas Promise (Whisper Creek Series #2) by Maggie McGinnis, Kathryn Lynhurst (Narrator)

Published November 18th 2014 by Loveswept, September 30, 2019 by Tantor Audio

4 Stars:

Although this book was published in 2014, I listened to the newly released audiobook from Tantor Audio. I enjoyed this sweet romance with a bit of angst thrown in. This is the story of Boston veterinarian Hayley Scampini. She has returned to Whisper Creek for her friend’s wedding and she meets large animal veterinarian, Daniel McKee. They have an instant attraction to one another, but Haley needs to head back to Boston and Daniel has his own complications including being widowed for only two years, having twin daughters and a meddling mother-in-law that wants him and the girls to move back to Denver. Once back home, they begin calling and skyping one another and a relationship begins to build. Heading back to Colorado for Christmas, their relationship changes into a romance that is not without its complications.

I absolutely loved all the characters in this story. Hayley and Daniel were wonderful and as their relationship grew, I found myself rooting for them. Daniel’s twins were adorable. They felt a kinship with Hayley and they bonded well. It was obvious to this reader that they loved each other long before they realized that was what they were feeling. The mother-in-law was the MIL from you know where. I know she was dealing with feelings of the loss of her daughter and was afraid she would lose her grandchildren as well, but the way she dealt with it was not fair to anyone. This was a wonderful addition to this series dealing with love, romance, family and some angst. I love the setting of Colorado and ranch life, so wholesome and inviting. I definitely recommend this one to romance lovers whether you read or listen to it.

The narration by Kathryn Lynhurst was well done, although I found the pace a bit slow. I would suggest speeding this up a bit if you find this a problem. Her expression was good as were the female voices, but I found the male voices a bit lacking. Having said that, I often find that an issue when there is only one narrator. Overall, this was a pleasant listening experience and I look forward to listening to the rest of this series.


22396054. sx318 Synopsis: In a captivating novel spiced with holiday magic—perfect for fans of Rachel Gibson, Susan Mallery, and Molly O’Keefe—a rugged Montana man mends a Northeast girl’s jaded heart.

Boston veterinarian Hayley Scampini tends the city’s pampered pets but dreams of the rural life of a country vet. She’s single and determined to stay that way, convinced that love isn’t permanent enough to trust. Then a vacation to the Whisper Creek dude ranch introduces her to Daniel McKee, a sexy single dad who runs the kind of veterinary practice she aspires to—and rattles her conviction to keep men at a distance.

Managing a thriving practice, coping with the loss of his wife, and fighting a custody battle with his in-laws over his twin daughters, Daniel couldn’t be more overwhelmed. Hayley is a godsend, accompanying him in the field and winning over his girls. It doesn’t take Daniel long to realize he’s falling for this woman, hard and fast. So before Hayley returns to Boston, he extracts a promise: that she will return to Whisper Creek for Christmas. It’s the perfect time and place to show Hayley that the promise of a beautiful life together is something she can believe in.