Beauty In Hiding

Beauty in Hiding Beauty in Flight #2)

by Robin Patchen

Genre: Christian romantic suspense

Published March 12, 2019 by JDO Publishing

Harper’s second chance at life will become a second stint in prison if anyone connects those two dead men to her.

Nutfield, New Hampshire, is as good a place as any to hide from the murderer Harper left behind in Maryland. All she has to do is lie low and make enough money to keep herself and Red alive until she can figure out who her enemies are.

Jack Rossi isn’t sure what to make of his beautiful new tenant and her confused grandfather. Something’s not right, but the love he sees between them and the care she takes of the old man convinces Jack they’re trustworthy. As drawn as he is to Harper, she’s his tenant, so she’s off limits.

Derrick, Harper’s ex-boyfriend and Red’s grandson, needs to find his grandfather and get his hands on the old man’s money before Derrick ends up with a bullet in the skull. And when he gets his hands on Harper, she’ll be sorry for what she’s put him through.

Harper and Jack grow closer, but so do her enemies. If Harper can’t trust Jack with the truth, she may lose more than just this glimpse of true love. She may lose her freedom—or her life.

Click here to purchase your copy.

4.5 Stars:

This is the second book in the series following Beauty in Flight, and a fantastic follow-up book it is. It is important to read these books in order. In the first book, we meet Harper Cloud and learn all about her past and her distrust of men. In this book Harper is on the run with her “Gramps” Red, He is not completely sure why they have left his home and his dementia flares up more often, with angry outbursts and episodes of forgetting, but Harper is determined to keep him safe. In the small New Hampshire town of Nutfield, they settle into a rental house, Harper finds a job, an adult day centre and an amazing landlord and friend. She thinks they have a chance starting fresh, but what both Harper and Red witnessed does not stay hidden. Not only that, but Derrick, Red’s grandson and Harper’s ex-boyfriend is still desperate for money to bail him out with his loan shark. He will not give up on finding them.

This book has so much in it. It is Christian Fiction, but there is some Romance, Adventure and Suspense as well. Robin Patchen had done a great job sharing details about Harper, Derrick, Red and Jack. They are well-developed characters and I can’t help but root for the good guys in this series. As the story builds, it is suspenseful and fast-paced. I read this one in one day as I could not put it down. The second half of the book has Harper panicking and almost taking Red on the run again, but he action is too quick for her. If you enjoy a well-written suspense novel with a bit of romance and a nice faith thread, you will love this book and the series. I can’t wait to read the last book in this trilogy not only to see if Harper and Jack are able not only to make their relationship work, but to see if Harper and Red are safe. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book upon my request. The rating, ideas and opinions shared are my own.

Robin PatchenAbout the Author: Aside from her family and her Savior, Robin Patchen has two loves—writing and traveling. If she could combine them, she’d spend a lot of time sitting in front of her laptop at sidewalk cafes and ski lodges and beachside burger joints. She’d visit every place in the entire world—twice, if possible—and craft stories and tell people about her Savior. Alas, time is too short and money is too scarce for Robin to traipse all over the globe, even if her husband and kids wanted to go with her. So she stays in Oklahoma, shares the Good News when she can, and writes to illustrate the unending grace of God through the power and magic of story.

More from Robin: I was raised in a Christian home. Our parents took my sister, my brother, and me to church every Sunday. They taught us right from wrong, but eventually, kids have to make their own choices. In my case, I chose wrong for a long time. Don’t misunderstand: I was always a pretty nice person. I wasn’t a thief, and I didn’t kill anybody, but I made a lot of bad decisions. Sinful decisions. I discovered that one bad choice often led to the next and the next until I was trapped in a life of my own making with no idea how to get out. But God… two of my favorite words in the English language. God had a different plan, and He pulled me out of the muck and changed my life. He showed me that I was not the person I’d been acting like. He showed me who I was, and He taught me to walk in the truth of my identity. Harper Cloud isn’t me, not at all. First of all, she’s tall and blonde and drop-dead gorgeous. More than that, her choices are nothing like mine were. But she’s in the same boat I was. Thanks to a series of bad decisions, Harper was in a hole, and she didn’t know how to get herself out of it. She used drugs to quiet the condemning voices and told herself lies to make herself feel better. Someday, she told herself, she’d get her life together enough to go home to her parents, because she  couldn’t go when she was a mess. She couldn’t go until she’d done something they could be proud of. Thanks to a bad choice in a boyfriend, Harper not only didn’t go home, she ended up in prison.

Harper’s story begins two years after she’s released. It’s the story of a woman desperate to be free of her past, clinging to hope when there’s every reason to despair, and desperate to believe what she’s been told about this Savior, Jesus Christ. Harper will learn about love and redemption and salvation in the course of the three books that make up the Beauty in Flight series. That is, if she can survive the danger that seems to follow her wherever she goes.