The Bone Witch (The Bone Witch, #1)3 Stars:

Published March 7th 2017 by Sourcebooks Fire, 432 Pages

I want to start by saying, I tried to read this book, but could not get into it. Several months later (now), I was able to get a copy of the audiobook, so thought I would try to listen to it instead. I did finish it, but I am not sure what I think. This is a very wordy, slow moving descriptive novel. This is the first book in a trilogy and it spent a lot of time world and character building. There was not a lot of action going on, which I had expected.

This book tells us the story of Tea, a girl who was born as a dark asha or better known as a bone witch. When she accidentally raised her brother from the dead, she was hated and feared. She was sent to the capital city to be trained to use her powers and serve the kingdom. This story shows how she overcomes obstacles, deals with disappointments and learns about her powers. The story is told from two points of view, Tea and a person named Bard who talks and hears Tea’s story. In the present, Tea is living alone in a cave. What happened to her debut as an Asha, why is she living alone?

I did like several of the characters. Lady Mykaela, Tea’s mentor, Tea’s brother and familiar Fox, Kalen and Kance were all very interesting. Their lives were not really their own, but the way they dealt with things was interesting and left me wanting to know more about their past and future. Tea was a great MC. I liked how she stayed strong and true to herself, despite the demands and expectations. She was also very stubborn which got her in trouble a few times, but she always had good reason for it. I loved her relationship with her brother, Fox. It was such a true love and one of the best things about this story. I am not sure if I will read the rest of the trilogy or not. I do want to see what happens to Tea and the others, but the story is so slowwww. If you enjoy fantasy, character and world building and descriptive stories, then you will love this one. Be warned, the story does not end with this book, in fact, it is only the beginning and there are two more to come

About the Book: In the captivating start to a new, darkly lyrical fantasy series for readers of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir, Tea can raise the dead, but resurrection comes at a price…

“Let me be clear: I never intended to raise my brother from his grave, though he may claim otherwise. If there’s anything I’ve learned from him in the years since, it’s that the dead hide truths as well as the living.”

When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy means that she’s a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community. But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training.

In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha-one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles…and make a powerful choice.

About the Author: Despite an unsettling resemblance to Japanese revenants, Rin always maintains her sense of hummus. Born and raised in Manila, Philippines, she keeps four pets: a dog, two birds, and a husband. Dances like the neighbors are watching. Rin Chupeco worked as a technical writer and travel blogger before becoming a full-time author with the publication of her first novel, The Girl from the Well.

Advertisements