A Christmas Gift4.5 Stars

Published October 4th 2018 by Avon

This was a charming and fun Christmas story, with some action, angst, romance, twists and more. Georgine France is publishing the Christmas show at Acting Instruments, a performing arts school in Middledip. She is dealing with debt collectors knocking on her door (her ex is in financial trouble), trying to get caught up on bills he was supposed to pay, assisting her father who is disabled due to a series of strokes and now her sister (also in financial trouble) has moved in after being kicked out by her boyfriend. With all this going on, a new assistant is assigned to her and she is physically attracted to Joe Blackthorne.

As she and Joe begin to become comfortable with one another, Georgine realizes that they knew each other in the past, but he was using a different name. What happened to them both in the past and how their lives have changed is such a contrast. There is so much going on in the story as they discover more and more about one another that I couldn’t stop listening to this one. I felt invested in the characters and events and really wanted to know what happened. This is the first book I have read by this author, but I will look for more. This book had well developed characters, enough intrigue and secrets to keep me on the edge of my seat and family drama that showed how important it is to be there for one another. With the play coming together as her social life comes apart, her family and friends help her to realize that everyone has a reason for their secrets. A happy ever after story that I really enjoyed. The publisher, Avon, generously provided me with a copy of this book upon request. The rating, ideas and opinions shared are my own.

About the Book (From Goodreads): 

A sumptuous, festive read from the #1 bestseller, Sue Moorcroft.

Georgine loves Christmas. The festive season always brings the little village of Middledip to life. But since her ex-boyfriend walked out, leaving her with crippling debts, Georgine’s struggled to make ends meet.

To keep her mind off her worries, she throws herself into organising the Christmas show at the local school. And when handsome Joe Blackthorn becomes her assistant, Georgine’s grateful for the help. But there’s something about Joe she can’t quite put her finger on. Could there be more to him than meets the eye?

Georgine’s past is going to catch up with her in ways she never expected. But can the help of friends new and old make this a Christmas to remember after all?

Curl up with the gorgeous new book from the Sunday Times bestseller, perfect for fans of Carole Matthews and Trisha Ashley.

About the Author: Sue Moorcroft is a Sunday Times bestselling author and has held the coveted #1 spot in the Amazon Kindle chart. She’s also a bestseller in Germany. She writes women’s contemporary fiction with sometimes unexpected themes.

Sue has won the Best Romantic Read Award, been nominated for a RoNA and is a Katie Fforde Bursary winner. She also writes short stories, serials, articles, columns, courses and writing ‘how to’.

An army child, Sue was born in Germany then lived in Cyprus, Malta and the UK. She’s worked in a bank, as a bookkeeper (probably a mistake), as a copytaker for Motor Cycle News and for a typesetter, but is pleased to have wriggled out of all ‘proper jobs’.

Newsletter sign-up: http://bit.ly/2jUlSwl
Website: www.suemoorcroft.com
Blog: http://suemoorcroft.wordpress.com.
Twitter: @suemoorcroft
Facebook: sue.moorcroft.3
Instagram: suemoorcroftauthor
Facebook author page: www.facebook.com/SueMoorcroftAuthor.
 (less)

Advertisements