a southern seasonTitle: A Southern Season: Four Stories From a Front Porch Swing
Authors: Eva Marie Everson, Claire Fullerton, Linda W. Yezak, Ane Mulligan
Firefly Southern Fiction
Release Date: 
November 1, 2018
Inspirational Southern/Women’s Fiction

Four seasons. Four stories. Each one set in the enchanting world of the South. These are the kinds of stories your grandmother told you from a front porch swing.

Ice Melts in Spring by Linda W. Yezak
When Kerry Graham’s boss forces her to return to the Gulf of Mexico where her husband drowned years ago, she feels only spring’s chill and not the warmth of the Texas sun. Can the joy of a reclusive author and the compassion of a shrimp-boat preacher thaw Kerry’s frigid heart?

Lillie Beth in Summer by Eva Marie Everson
With the untimely death of his wife, Dr. James Gillespie believes God has abandoned him. He also believes he’s never met anyone like the young widow Lillie Beth, whose beloved Granny lies dying at home, and who sees a God who sweeps hope through a farmhouse window. Can a young woman whose husband died in Vietnam restore a faith that is all but dead.

Through an Autumn Window by Claire Fullerton
Because her larger than life mother Daphne Goodwyn is dead, forty-year-old Cate returns to Memphis with one thought in mind: something always goes wrong at a Southern funeral. But surrounded by the well-mannered society that raised her, the nostalgic rites of a three-day, autumn mourning bring the unexpected gift of the end of sibling rivalry.

A Magnolia Blooms in Winter by Ane Mulligan
With Broadway stardom within her reach, Morgan James returns home in winter to help an old friend. Maybe it s just nostalgia, but when she sees him again, an old flame rekindles. When she’s called back to NYC to take the lead in a new musical, will fame be worth losing the man she loves?

PURCHASE LINKS: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository


Who came up with this idea and how did you decide who would cover each season?
Ane Mulligan approached me (Eva Marie Everson) about doing a Christmas anthology … but our publisher wasn’t sure about that being our first anthology out of the gate (they only sell one time during the year). Because Ane had already written her Christmas story, I thought perhaps we could have four stories written within four southern seasons. Ane suggested Linda Yezak to write “spring,” and I knew of Claire’s immense talent. I took “summer,” which gave Claire “autumn.”

My Review:  This was a great idea for a collection of novellas told from the front porch swing. Each author was to write a Christian story, during one of the four seasons, with the theme of listening to God and finding your way to him or back to him. I loved the setting of the South, even though we were in Texas, Tennessee and Georgia, there was a similar vibe to the various towns. I was not sure what to expect as the stories all varied quite a bit with loss of a loved one being central to three of the stories and second chance love also a central theme. Each novella was short, about an hour to an hour and a half to read, so this was just enough time to get to know the characters and develop a storyline. I would love to see some of these stories continue on and become full length novels or series as I very much liked the characters. I enjoyed all four stories, some more than others, but they were all well written with a Christian message of love, forgiveness, hope and dreams. Pull up a chair, grab a glass of sweet tea (or drink of your choice) and settle in to experience the four seasons in the south with all the culture, heart, soul and wonderful sayings of Southerners.

I received this book from Just Read tours. This is my honest review and is in no way influenced by receiving a complimentary copy.


Eva Marie by Mary Denman Photography 2

Eva Marie Everson (Lillie Beth in Summer) is a multiple award-winning author and speaker. She is the president of Word Weavers International and the director of Florida Christian Writers Conference & North Georgia Christian Writers Conference.

CONNECT WITH EVA: website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram Pinterest


2 Claire LvgRm 3 set 2 828 465 360-1010730

Claire Fullerton (Through an Autumn Window) is the author of Mourning DoveDancing to an Irish Reel, and A Portal in Time. She is a transplanted Southerner from Memphis now living in Malibu, California.

CONNECT WITH CLAIRE: website | Facebook | Twitter Instagram Pinterest



Ane Mulligan (A Magnolia Blooms in Winter) writes Southern-fried fiction served with a tall, sweet iced tea. She’s an award-winning, multi-published novelist and playwright, who believes chocolate and coffee are two of the four major food groups.

CONNECT WITH ANE: website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest


Linda Yezak

Linda W. Yezak (Ice Melts in Spring) lives with her husband and PB, the original scaredy cat, in a forest in Deep East Texas, where tall tales abound and exaggeration is an art form. Author of several novels, novellas, and short stories, she is best known for her award-winning Circle Bar Ranch series.

CONNECT WITH LINDA: website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram Pinterest