I Need a Lifeguard Everywhere But the Poolby Lisa Scottoline and Francesca Serritella

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published July 11th 2017 by St. Martin’s Press
4 Stars

Synopsis: The bestselling and “perennially hilarious” mother-daughter team is back with a new collection of stories from their real lives, guaranteed to make you laugh out loud. Join Lisa and Francesca as they regret drunk-shopping online, try smell-dating, and explore the freedom of a hiatus from men – a Guyatus. They offer a fresh and funny take on the triumphs and facepalm moments of modern life, showing that when it comes to navigating the crazy world we live in, you’re always your own best lifeguard

My Review: I have read a couple of these books by Lisa and Francesca and I enjoy them. They are a collection of short anecdotes (newspaper column-type) of their lives. This book highlights many humorous moments in their lives and allows you a peak at various areas such as their love life, pets, jobs, friends etc. I love their sense of humor in these stories, especially Lisa’s (the majority of the chapters are written by her). A reader can often picture themselves in the same or similar situations and smile and nod as they read along. Even though I am of Lisa’s age, I was able to relate to many of Francesca’a stories and picture my daughter in the same situation. I think the one I laughed at the most was the “Smart Bra” story. Being a recent widow with a big house, I also enjoyed reading about Lisa’s renovations and home improvements. If anyone looked in my cupboards and closets, they would also see all the things I bought that I rarely use as well. Lisa, besides that fact that I am not an author, we share so many things. It is great to be able to laugh about things when you see them in a different perspective. These are great books that I would recommend to other mothers and daughters so they can see the other side of the coin. Because each story is a short chapter this is a great book for busy people because they can pick it up and read a story in between their busy tasks. Women will definitely enjoy this book and probably all the others this mother/daughter team has written. I am definitely going to continue reading these humorous books so I can laugh at both my and their lives. We need that. Thank-you Netgalley and St. Martins for the opportunity to read this e-arc.

