The Women of Easter by Liz Curtis Higgsby Liz Curtis Higgs

Published January 3rd 2017 by WaterBrook

5 Stars

Synopsis: You are about to meet three women named Mary, each of whom has a life-changing encounter with Jesus. Mary of Bethany prepares the way for the Lord s burial when she anoints His feet and fills the air with her perfume. His mother, Mary of Nazareth, remains by His side from His first breath to His last, her loyalty unwavering. Mary Magdalene, delivered of seven demons, bravely supports her Teacher through His darkest hours and then proclaims the glorious news of His resurrection.
What a trio. What a Savior!

Your mind and emotions will be engaged and your faith strengthened as each scene unfolds, preparing your heart for a richer, deeper Easter experience. Liz Curtis Higgs, a seasoned Bible teacher and award-winning novelist, combines her storytelling skills with a thorough verse-by-verse study of Scripture as together you explore the remarkable lives of the women of Easter.

My Review: This book was recommended to me by one of the women in my weekly devotional group. She also commented that Liz Curtis Higgs was doing a daily Lenten focus of the book on her Facebook page. Well, that had me hooked. I got the book and very much enjoyed it. I did refer to the Facebook page periodically, but I read it through with great interest. What a great concept, seeing the lead up to Easter through the eyes of women in the bible. Higgs breaks down the stories in the Bible starting with Mary of Bethany. I loved hearing more about the life and times of the people. The culture of what was going on interested me and helped me to understand the powerful messages so much better. It was almost like I was there and could see things so much more clearly. The questions at the back of the book were extremely thought provoking. They made you really think about the stories. As other reviewers said, there were a lot of notes, but I chose to ignore them because I did not want to interrupt the flow when I was reading. I really enjoyed this book and it was a great experience leading up to Easter. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book via Netgalley.

