Christmas at the Little Village Bakeryby Tilly Tennant

Published September 16th 2016 by Bookouture

4 Stars

Synopsis: It’s time to get toasty by the fire with a glass of mulled wine and a slice of chocolate yule log sprinkled with a little romance. Welcome to Christmas at the Little Village Bakery.
Snow is falling in Honeybourne and Spencer is bringing home his American fiancée Tori for a traditional English Christmas with all the trimmings. But when his hippie mum and dad meet her high-maintenance parents, sparks of the wrong sort start to fly. Then Spencer bumps into his first love Jasmine and unexpected feelings come flooding back.
Millie is run off her feet with Christmas orders at the Little Village Bakery and new baby Oscar. Thank goodness her cousin Darcie is here to help her. Although she does seem to be rather flirty with Millie’s boyfriend Dylan.
Will Darcie ever find true love of her own? And is marrying Tori a terrible mistake for Spencer if his heart is with someone else?
A heartwarming Christmassy romantic comedy, perfect for fans of Carole Matthews and Millie Johnson.

My Review: This is the second book in the Honeybourne series and even though I did not read the first one, I enjoyed this book with no problem. We get to meet the characters from the first book and some of the backstory is included here, but this book concentrates on Spencer and Tori’s story. Spencer and Tori met in America, where he was participating in a teacher exchange program. They fell in love and got engaged. The have come to Honeybourne, a small village in England where Spencer grew up, to spend Christmas. Both Tori’s and Spencer’s parents will also be there and everyone will meet each other. It seems that Tori’s parents do not think highly of Spencer so he is not looking forward to their visit. What could go wrong, future inlaws meeting for the first time?

I love the characters in the village. I was not too happy with Tori’s parents as they seemed very snobbish and unfriendly. Millie and Dylan are running “The Little Village Bakery” with the help of Millie’s cousin Darcie. They have a baby, Oscar, who seems to require a lot of love to keep him from crying. Dylan and Millie got together in the first book. Darcie is doing a great job at the bakery, but the secret she is carrying about her feelings for someone is causing her major distress. Dylan’s sister Jasmine and her husband Rich are also facing their own issues. Parents of 10 year old triplets who seem to have it all, but there is a certain amount of angst in their relationship. And then there is Ruth Evans, the local busybody. She seems to be everywhere with her advice and questions, but she is the comic relief in the story.

Even though I did not read this book at Christmas, I still enjoyed the setting, the characters and all their intermingled stories. Honeybourne is a great little village where everyone steps up to help one another and enjoy their neighbours. The local pub is the meeting place for them all and the comraderie there is an important part of the village life. This is a romance so you know that for the most part, there will be happy endings, but getting there is not necessarily an easy road. I will now have to go back and read the first book as well as watch for the next one. I am sure we will be reading Darcie’s story next time as well as finding out how things turn out for Spencer and Tori. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book via Netgalley.

Advertisements