Winter Storms (Winter, #3)by Elin Hilderbrand

Published October 4th 2016 by Little Brown and Company

4.5 Stars

Synopsis: The Quinn family gathers for one last holiday at the Winter Street Inn in the heartwarming conclusion to Elin Hilderbrand’s bestselling trilogy.
Preparing for another holiday season in Nantucket, the Quinns are optimistic that despite a health scare for Kelley, this year’s celebration will be their best in ages. After a year apart, and an ill-fated affair with the Inn’s old Santa Claus, Mitzi has returned to rule the roost; there is hopeful news about Bart, who has been MIA in Afghanistan; and love is in the air as Kevin and Isabelle are preparing to get married. But as the family gathers together, a powerful blizzard bears down on the Eastern seaboard. With a wedding, an emotional reunion, and enough holiday drama to test the closest of family bonds, WINTER STORMS proves that when the holidays roll around, you can always go home again.

My Review: This is the final book in the Winter trilogy by Elin Hilderbrand. One thing I will say right up front is that you need to read this series in order. There are things that happen in one book that lead into the next. I love Christmas stories, I especially love “Christmas Magic” that I have come to expect from so many of them. This is not one of those books. It does not have that magical romance so many Christmas books have, it has something else. This series is a book about a family. A family that has issues, happiness, turmoil, betrayal, love and everything you would expect to happen in a normal family. They just happen to live on Nantucket and have some money. This book ties up the loose ends. It brings the family together through the “Storm of the Century” and solves some outstanding issues. Here is the big but, there is still so much to know about this family. Why does this series have to end? I love these characters, they are like friends and family to me. Wait, there is going to be another Winter story and I can’t be more pleased. In October 2017, Winter Solstice will come out. I am not kidding when I say I enjoyed this series and book. It is a family drama, nothing major happens like and earthquake or losing everything in a fire, there are no mass murder sprees, or even a murder to investigate, yet it held me to attention. I wanted to see where this family was going and how it was all going to turn out. Pick up the series and give it a read, you won’t be disappointed. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book via Netgalley.

