Captain Pugby Laura James (author), Eglantine Ceulemans (Illustrator)

Published May 5th 2016 by Bloomsbury Childrens

4.5 Stars

Synopsis: On one very ordinary day Pug’s nose knows that breakfast is on its way. And with breakfast, come crumbs – but not just any old crumbs, jam tart crumbs. Jam tarts are Pug’s favorite food, and he loves nothing more than to share them with his best friend, Lady Miranda. But just before Pug can finish the last jam tart, Lady Miranda picks him up and whisks him away for a sea-faring adventure. Unfortunately for Pug, it turns out that water may be his biggest fear!

To avoid the water, Pug takes a well-timed snack break. But when his brief respite takes an unexpected turn, Pug will have to find his true Captain self and steer a path back home.

This delightful story of friendship is perfect for fans of Diva and Flea.

My Review: This is the first book in a series about a pug. My daughter recently got a jug (half pug, half jack russell) so this book intrigued me and definitely interested my grandson. It was about the humorous adventures of a cute little pug. He is owned by Lady Miranda who has been invited to a party where there will be paddle boats. She dresses pug in a captain’s suit and he becomes Captain Pug. Once they arrive at the park, they get separated and the fun begins. Captain Pug decides that he must become a famous Captain in order for Lady Miranda to find him. Lady Miranda doesn’t let anything stop her from finding her beloved dog, even carrying one of her footmen in the sedan when he gets a blister. Of course they are reunited after several exciting “missions” for Captain Pug. Throughout the story, Pug was fearful of the water which makes perfect sense. For anyone who has had a pug, you know they are very poor swimmers.

One thing I really liked about this book were the illustrations. There were several with one on almost every page. With this being an early chapter book, this is helpful for those readers. They can use the pictures as clues as well as to break up the text. If it is a read aloud, it certainly enhances the story. The only issue I had with the text was that it was hard to read when the background was completely covered by colour.

I recommend Captain Pug to late primary, early junior readers who are venturing into independent reading of short chapter books. I also think it would make a charming read aloud for young children. If you are an animal lover, adventure lover or just like a humorous story, pick up this book. A winner for school, classroom and family libraries. I am looking forward to Pug’s next adventure. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book via Netgalley.

Advertisements