Witch Warsby Sibeal Pounder, Laura Ellen Anderson (Illustrations)

Published January 19th 2016 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens

4 Stars

Synopsis: When Fran the Fabulous Fairy turns up in Tiga Whicabim’s shed to tell her she’s a witch, Tiga doesn’t believe her. Or at least not until Fran points out that TIGA WHICABIM is actually an anagram of I AM A BIG WITCH . . . and takes Tiga through the drainpipes to compete in a challenge to crown the next Top Witch of Ritzy City. No one expects a witch from ‘above the pipes’ to be a serious contender, but soon Tiga and her new best friend, Peggy Pigwiggle, are at the head of the pack! Does one of them have what it takes to win?

There will be spells. There will be shrunken heads. But most of all, there will be serious shoe envy. Perfect for fans of Sarah Mlynowski’s Whatever After series and filled with hilarious black-and-white illustrations, delectable dresses, and ridiculous riddles, Witch Wars is whimsical, magical fun!

My Review: This is the first in a series (currently 4 books) about a nine year old girl names Tiga Whicabim. She lives with her guardian, mean and nasty Miss Heks. She spends most of her time in the shed to get away from her. Meals consist of cheese soup, yes a small bit a mouldy cheese in boiling water. Get the picture, a pretty nasty home for poor Tiga.

When Fran the Fairy shows up at Tiga’s shed to tell Tiga that she’s a witch, she doesn’t believe her. Fran tells her that she will take her to Ritzy City via the pipes and jumps down, Tiga sticks her finger in the drain and BOOM, she is sucked in. The adventure begins. Tiga has been nominated to participate in Witch Wars. The winner rules Ritzy City, but if she loses, it is back to the shed and Miss Heks. Tiga is a wonderful little witch and quickly makes friends to help her solve the riddles and win. With Peggy at her side, Tiga sets off determined to solve the riddles, win Witch Wars, and remain in Ritzy City forever.

This is a great story for young girls (8 to 10). It has everything: best friends, mean girls, friendly and not so friendly competition, quirky characters, great settings and names for places like Clutterbucks, Sinkville, Brollywood, and depicts loyalty, perseverence, smart girls, and more. The characters in the story are fun. Each of the nine witches in the wars are different and have different characteristics. For a short book, there was a lot packed in. The story flows easily and the plot is developed so the young reading the book will be able to follow it. The illustrations are amazing. The bring the characters and the setting to life. A great beginning chapter book for young girls. I recommend this book to public, school and classroom libraries. I can see this series becoming a favourite of young girl. The publisher generously provided me a copy of this book via Netgalley.

Advertisements